Arugula, Fennel, and Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Fantastic combo of flavors! I could not have gotten my husband to eat Arugula in the past. He had seconds of this. My new favorite salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was a perfect dressing for these greens. My kids never had arugula and loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I prepared this dish for the 4th of July. I used my garden grown arugula which made it extra special. I also substituted canned manderin oranges for fresh and added balsamic to the dressing. A great dressing to the best tasting greens ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Made it for the first time. Never had fennel before, didn't even know what it looked like. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Really great salad. Served with prime rib on Christmas and was as big a hit as the main course. Dressing and ingredient ratios are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane442
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
What a delicious salad. Thanks for sharing! I have used fennel in a creamy potato soup recipe that I have, and we love that one so decided to branch out with another fennel recipe. I made this salad last night when we had friends over. We paired the salad with To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo (also on this site) and they worked perfectly together - one rich and very creamy, the other crunchy and sharp-sweet. I doubled the dressing recipe just to be sure I'd have enough. (I can always use up leftover dressing on other salads/steamed veggies.) I probably ended up adding a bit more lemon juice than the recipe calls for - just a matter of personal taste. I was worried the honey sweetness would be too much, but not at all: it really works with the stronger arugula and fennel flavors. I used seedless clementine wedges instead of oranges just b/c that's what we had at the house. All-in-all a 5-star recipe. Tastes great, looks so bright and colorful, and it's an ideal way to break away from boring lettuce salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Pretty salad, easy to make, nice flavor and texture blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Love this! I eliminated the olives and used dole canned mandarin oranges instead of the fresh ones. I also added some balsamic vinegar and a little juice from the canned oranges to the dressing... it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Piglet1983
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This salad was great! I tried it out on my parents, and they were very pleased with the dressing in particular. The only thing I did differently was add some clementine (small orange) juice to the dressing, and instead of regular oranges, used seedless clementines. I was concerned that the salad was going to have too much of a bite, as I remember eating arugula in the past and not particularly enjoying it. I had also heard that "fennel tastes like licorice". I was pleasantly surprised with the taste of this salad. The sweetness of the clementines and the saltiness of the olives made for quite and interesting (and desirable) combination. And the dressing ties everything together beautifully. This salad is light and refreshing, perfect for summer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I decided I had to make a salad with fennel for some friends. I don't know; I just felt like using fennel. I found this recipe. I had never used fennel before, nor arugula....and black olives with oranges? Well, it works! The salad was delicious, everybody loved it, and I had no leftovers! Suggestioin: cut the fennel bulb into small-to-medium pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States