Arugula, Fennel, and Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Also great topped with chopped black olives (preserved in oil, not brine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERRANA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I would have used canned mandarin oranges. The Navel oranges I used were not the flavor I wanted and I could not make the dressing work, but I used unfair trade olive oil, so... Advisory: when cutting a fennel bulb, remove a wedge-shaped section of the core. If you don't, the result is an octopus "head" and "tentacles" protruding from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QASIMARA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I decided I had to make a salad with fennel for some friends. I don't know; I just felt like using fennel. I found this recipe. I had never used fennel before, nor arugula....and black olives with oranges? Well, it works! The salad was delicious, everybody loved it, and I had no leftovers! Suggestioin: cut the fennel bulb into small-to-medium pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This salad was great! I tried it out on my parents, and they were very pleased with the dressing in particular. The only thing I did differently was add some clementine (small orange) juice to the dressing, and instead of regular oranges, used seedless clementines. I was concerned that the salad was going to have too much of a bite, as I remember eating arugula in the past and not particularly enjoying it. I had also heard that "fennel tastes like licorice". I was pleasantly surprised with the taste of this salad. The sweetness of the clementines and the saltiness of the olives made for quite and interesting (and desirable) combination. And the dressing ties everything together beautifully. This salad is light and refreshing, perfect for summer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Love this! I eliminated the olives and used dole canned mandarin oranges instead of the fresh ones. I also added some balsamic vinegar and a little juice from the canned oranges to the dressing... it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Pretty salad, easy to make, nice flavor and texture blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane442
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
What a delicious salad. Thanks for sharing! I have used fennel in a creamy potato soup recipe that I have, and we love that one so decided to branch out with another fennel recipe. I made this salad last night when we had friends over. We paired the salad with To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo (also on this site) and they worked perfectly together - one rich and very creamy, the other crunchy and sharp-sweet. I doubled the dressing recipe just to be sure I'd have enough. (I can always use up leftover dressing on other salads/steamed veggies.) I probably ended up adding a bit more lemon juice than the recipe calls for - just a matter of personal taste. I was worried the honey sweetness would be too much, but not at all: it really works with the stronger arugula and fennel flavors. I used seedless clementine wedges instead of oranges just b/c that's what we had at the house. All-in-all a 5-star recipe. Tastes great, looks so bright and colorful, and it's an ideal way to break away from boring lettuce salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Really great salad. Served with prime rib on Christmas and was as big a hit as the main course. Dressing and ingredient ratios are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great salad, light and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SXCLADE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This salad is very delicate and light, the not-too-sweet dressing brings the flavors together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States