Arugula, Fennel, and Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Thanks, this is the best salad I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is a favourite of mine. I've taken it to many potlucks with great success. I've made it with oranges and canned mandarines and I prefer the ease of using the canned though you do sacrifice a bit of the freshness and flavour. The secret to arugula is to make paper thin slices. It can be overpowering otherwise. I use a mandolin on the thinnest setting for it. Don't forget, arugula is a laxative if you eat enough of it. It's a tasty salad but don't eat the entire recipe in one day. I'll often prepare the ingredients in separate containers and assemble the salad right before I eat it to ensure that the arugula and fennel stay fresh and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Loved the salad. Easy to make. Next time I think I'll leave out the olives though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
It was OK...you have to be a fennel fan I think...not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This salad is fabulous and easy to make. The dressing perfectly complements the salad. Make sure the oranges are sweet. I also recommend that you serve the black olives on the side for those who do not like them. It is wonderful to serve when guests come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I used canned mandarin oranges well. I also used kalamata olives. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Fantastic! I made one minor change and went with tangerines instead of oranges. The salad was surprisingly good. None of it tasted all that spectacular while separate and the taste of the dressing was sort of hideous, UNTIL mixed with the salad. I will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was an interesting salad, but I didn't like it enough to make it again. The orange was my favorite part. The fennel was probably my least favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a great combination for arugula, with no changes. However, I found it a trifle light on flavor, as I tend to favor contrasts. I added double lemon juice into the dressing, as well as the spicy walnuts from Trader Joe's into the salad. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Also great topped with chopped black olives (preserved in oil, not brine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERRANA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States