Arugula, Fennel, and Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I was looking for something new and exciting to serve as a salad with my homemade spaghetti dinner at beach week with the family. Instead of going the shortcut way with canned mandarin oranges as some commented on, I hand sectioned the oranges and was rewarded with the sweet natural flavor of them. Canned oranges? No thanks. It was worth the extra mile. Everyone loved it and asked for a copy of the recipe. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
These were definitely interesting flavors and a very unique salad. It gave me an excuse to finally play with fennel. The cashier was unfamiliar and asked me what it was upon check out, lol. The vinaigrette used here was beautiful and delicate. It matched extremely well with the orange segments. It was my first time dealing with arugula as well. Unfortunately, I was not the biggest fan of this ingredient. It has a bitter taste which creates a huge distraction from the subtlety of the other flavors. The vinaigrette, oranges, and fennel were perfect together so I will probably be making this again except that I will replace the arugula with green leaf or baby spinach. This was a very creative recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
delicious! didn't need any olives---used with fresh arugula from Farmer's Market
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Love the combination of the ingredients - totally fresh and zingy... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I made this salad last night for supper and the salad part was fine but the dressing was nasty. It calls for way too much olive oil. I think about 1 or 2 tablespoons would be enough. It was just too oily. I will make this again but do something different with the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Love this recipe! Made it many times for different occassions and ALWAYS get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIORFINO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Delicious! Loved the peppery arugula, sharp bite of fennel, and unexpected sweetness of the orange supremes. I used Kalamata olives - perfect. The dressing was just right too. Keeper recipe, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Very fresh and very good. Not my favourite of all time, but I enjoyed the originality and freshness of this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
seldom have i been so sad to come to the end of a salad. More please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Even Bob liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States