Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I don't add the butter because you will just find it on the bottom of your pot. As most reviewers I am enough water to just touch the bottom of the steamer. You dont want the pot to go dry nor do you want the artichoke to boil I like to mince some garlic and extra virgin olive oil together and dif the leaves and heart. Great TV snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Carolyn Bowers-Reimondo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Very good! One more tip, if you put a bit of baking soda in the water, the artichoke stays nice and bright green. I do this with any green veggie I am steaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Great recipe!! The only change I made was I made a garlic butter paste that I rubbed in between the leaves. Also steamed for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
First time doing artichkes and was very happy with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ******CAS********
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delicious! I've made this many times. Great appetizer to share with groups. I agree with everyone use extra virgin olive oil extra minced garlic can't hurt either. I also use same mixture in my stuffed mushrooms, I use baby bella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Port Monmouth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
great way to prepare and serve artichokes - have been doing this for years and enjoy; yes, a bit of work for what you get out of them, but still good to have on occasion - ONE NOTE: NEVER place discarded leaves down the garbage disposal - these are extremely tough and fibrous and may cause damage to your disposal or clog your drain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Greco
Home Town: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Maple Glen, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was great. I did scale it up to 3 artichokes and added more water and cooked twice as long since they were big artichokes. The artichokes turned out with hard outer leaves but tender insides. I think this is the most flesh I've ever scraped off an artichoke. I don't have a steamer so I put the artichokes directly in the water. Half way through the process of cooking, I did scope some of the water/butter mixture and poured all over artichokes. Definitely a keeper and will start using this recipe more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
BEST EVER YEAH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I thought this recipe was only ok. Easy to prepare but not enough flavor even though I doubled the amount of garlic (I really like garlic). I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Easy way to prepare 2 artichokes: Wash and trim. Place the artichokes in a microwave safe glass bowl filled with 1/2 cup water. Spread leaves of the choke and sprinkle with garlic salt, squeeze juice of one lemon and pour about 1 tsp of olive oil on each one. Cover the bowl with saran wrap tightly and cook for 12 minutes. I test them to make sure the bottom of the artichoke is tender when pierced with a fork..if not cook a little longer. If tender remove, drain juice, cool. I dip each leaf in a mixture of butter, course ground black pepper, soy sauce and lemon juice (all to taste) as I eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States