Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Excellent! I love artichokes and I have to take it easy when I eat the meat off the leafs so fast so I can get to best part, the heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
The garlic and butter IN the artichoke is a fantastic idea and I can't wait to give that a try on my next try. I find that putting a bay leaf in with the water adds a little extra flavor. Also, if you're a fan of mayonnaise, try making a little homemade garlic mayo (I usually just use garlic powder since I'm a poor college student) to dip the pedals in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I too am an artichoke addict - have been since the 70's. I find that most people not only do not know how to prepare them, they don't even know how to eat them. Like the previous reviewer said, you don't eat the entire leaf - scrape the meat off with your teeth. When you get to leaves that are thin and nearly transparent, take a spoon and scrape them out along with the fuzzy choke and throw away. What you have left is the artichoke heart (the BEST part of the artichoke!) Cut it into bite size pieces and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This is just a little heads up for some folks who never made and or eaten artichokes whole like this before. I read through some of the reviews and noticed that some were trying to eat the whole leaf. what you do is remove a leaf, dip in butter or sauce and scrape the fleshy part off with your teeth. Discard the rest of the leaf.I hope this helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Excellent ideas everyone! Here's one more dip for you that works with both mayo and butter. I've never tried it with olive oil but I would imagine it would be delicious. Try adding fresh tarragon leaves (cut with scissors)into the dipping sauce. Dried will work too, but you may have to let it steep longer. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I think I made these wrong! I steamed 2 artichokes for about 50 min, and when I peeled the petals off they were very hard to chew and the ends were almost crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Great recipe! I added a lemon slice to the top of each artichoke and dipped them in melted butter with lemon juice and black pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I substituted olive oil for butter & used lemon in the water. I cooked them for 30 min and it still didn't seem done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOPEYDUCK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
I found Mini Arts at Trader Joes they were sooo cute! A box of 15 for only $2.50 so look if you have one in your area. The kids just loved them, and the size made them super easy to eat. I did not put the butter in each leaf since they were so small, but I put oil in with the steaming water. They cooked fast too, only 12-15 mins. Turned out VERY good! Fun for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizycooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I only had one artichoke and it was big - so my cooking time was a little longer, but it was awesome! It took the other reviewers prep advice about snipping the pokey ends. We made a little dipping sauce of LF mayo with a squirt of lemon and a dash of lemon pepper. I will definitely be putting artichokes into the rotation now that I know how easy they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States