Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Our favorite local Italian restaurant makes the best artichokes and these ended up very similar to them. I stuffed with minced garlic, butter, some olive oil and Parmesan cheese. After they were done, I added more Parmesan, bread crumbs and a little salt and pepper. They were great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I have LOVED artichokes since I was little and this is how I have always had them....except I use olive oil instead of butter. I trim the artichokes (so they aren't prickly) and put them in a steamer basket. Drizzle some olive oil, salt, pepper, and a little Parmesan cheese...Delish! And healthy. My favorite part is the heart...but make sure you don't eat the hairy part!!! Oh, I have to add....picking a good artichoke makes a HUGE difference. They should be heavy for their size and look "full" and round. Not skimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I don't know if we just had an old artichoke or something, but my family and I weren't too fond of this. Thanks anyway for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I don't have a steamer basket, so I put extra water in the pan. I used minced garlic and added some lemon juice to the water as well. Mine also had to cook for about double the amount of time before the leaves pulled off easily and the fleshy part was soft enough. Very tasty with the butter and garlic. I usually only use lemon juice. Thank you for a new way to steam artichokes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Don't cut the stems off!! Peel it like a carrot, trim off about a 1/2 inch off the stem only. The stem is so good, it's just like the heart of the choke without all the work to get to! Also when cleaning, put the cleaned artichoke in a bowl of water with a squeeze of lemon while preparing, this will keep it from turning color. I always serve my artichokes with mayo and sun dried tomatoes mixed in, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbsBerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Capitola, California, USA
Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I just put mine right in the water with a T of veg. oil to soften them and 1T lemon juice. I left about 2 inches of the stem on because it is good to eat. Mine were large so I had to simmer around 30 minutes. I also put the garlic slices in the water not inside the artichokes because I thought it may be too strong for my boys. Good with mayonniase on the side! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
These were okay, beforehand we were really used to artichokes with just butter. I thought it had too much salt and pepper and I would mince the garlic instead. Perhaps next time I'll simply try Garlic Salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I just put all the seasonings in the water (or sometimes I'll use chicken broth) with a little olive oil, garlic and onion powder, a bay leaf, lemon juice, a little parsley, a splash of white wine, and then steam them. I love dipping them in blue cheese dressing. Yum! My husband doensn't like to eat vegetables but he loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Not crazy about this recipe. Artichokes were tough, not tender what so ever. I had to cook it longer and it still was woody. Will not make it again. I prefer cooking artichokes in a pot of boiling water/olive oil/garlic cloves & lemon slices, it's easy and makes a really tender, tasty artichoke. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSANNA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Living in California we eat artichokes all year - they are absolutely our favorite. So, I've tried many different ways for cooking them, and the most favorite is roasting on the grill (that's another recipe altogether). I also experimented and during the steaming process, in addition to the seasonings in the water, I pour some balsamic vinaigrette dressing over the artichokes before cooking (making sure that there is a bit of olive oil added) - the aroma while cooking and the flavor while eating cannot be beat. I'm not a big butter fan, so didn't try that. Another option for dipping sauce is to add some curry to your mayonnaise. I know, it's a California thing.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States