Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
The artichokes turned out great steamed. I just made sure to add more water and steamed for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These were wonderful! Not sure why people are having so much trouble with this. It was my first time to cook an artichoke and I got it figured out. The garlic gloves in leaves were a very nice addition. I just trimmed the points and snipped some outer leaves and threw the choke in the steamer pot. I did 25 mins. and it was perfect. I do agree with some reviewers that you do need a little more water, cause mine was all dried up but luckily it didn't burn the pot. When it was done just remove the chokes and peel off leaf by leaf just scraping the bottom soft part of leaf off with your teeth. This is the perfect way to eat them and fun too for the little one's if you can get them to try it! Thanks Shai for a great artichoke recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Maybe I did it wrong, but mine came out not very good. It was done, but it smelled and tasted awful. I trimmed it and took out the middle part like others suggested and put some butter on it before I steamed it -- maybe that was the problem? I don't know that I'll be trying this again soon. I rated it in the middle because it won't let me write a review without rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
very good, taste great, but too much work to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Poole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This recipe was pretty easy. We enjoyed trying it. It gave the artichokes a very nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Ging

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I used this to make whole artichokes for the first time. They turned out really good using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Why everyone makes this so hard is really beyond me. All I do is trim off the end of the stem and peel with peeler, leaving the stem on. Cut in half long-ways. Rinse with water. Put in steaming basket and steam until tender. Use a spoon remove choke. Can't get much simpler than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristiT.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I too love artichokes but, I put them in the microwave. I use a cassorole dish with a cover, Put water half way up , wash and prepare your artichoke(s) stick slivers of garlic between the leaves and also in the water. Nuke about 5 mins per choke. Drizzle with olive oil and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This seems to be way too short a time for cooking the artichoke enough to get the most cooked flesh from it. I agree with a previous review to cook them about 45 minutes. However, I suggest that if you have a pressure cooker, to cook it in that for about 10 minutes. I have been cooking them in a pressure cooker for many years & they turn out very tender & delicious. Thanks for the tip about the garlic in between the leaves. That makes it even tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
20 minutes is not even close to long enough, I fill the pot with 1 inch of water and put a lemon slice on each Artichoke " do not add salt,it draws the juices out" Place the Artichokes, stems trimed closely stem side down in the pot,cover and bring the water to a boil,turn down heat to simmer for about one hour. you will have perfect Artichokes. dip in garlic mayo or just plain olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States