Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I am an artichoke addict. The reviewers who suggest more time (45 min) in the steamer are right on. I use a serrated knife to cut the top inch or so off the artichoke then trim the remaining outer leaves primarily to remove the sharp thorns. Also the stem, after being cut off, can be peeled with a vegetable peeler and steamed along with the rest. Eating a whole steamed artichoke is like opening a Christmas present especially when you get to the real present, the heart. For me, melted butter with lemon is the dip but experiment with whatever suits your fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I hate to be a negative review in the midst of all the good ones but these just didn't turn out very well for me. Mine were tender and edible but didn't have much flavor. However this was my first artichoke attempt so the problem could be the cook and not the recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I really enjoyed this - easy and delicious. This was my first time cooking artichokes. I steamed them for 45 minutes in an electric steamer and then drizzled the garlic butter over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I've tried making artichokes by using a pressure cooker. I put just enough water to reach the good meaty part of the choke, add juice of half a lemon, the lemon rind, sprinkle some Italian Spice from a jar, add 1 bay leaf, 2 garlic cloves, 1 chicken bullion cube, salt and pepper to the water. Clean, trim the tips, cut the bottom just enough so they sit up straight. In the pressure cooker I wait for the little jingle jangle of the top and then cook artichokes for no more than 7 minutes. Done! Quick easy and very tasty. Somehow the pressure cooker does not let the water take away from the flavor. I follow the rest of the tips on dipping, butter, mayo, lemon, whatever is good. Pull off a leaf, dip the meaty bottom part of it, and skim off the meaty part and toss the rest of the leaf. Fast and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I use a pressure cooker and steam for 12 minutes. I forgot to add that when the artichokes are done and very hot, I spread out the leaves a little and drop some finely shredded cheese all around and then push them back together. It melts down to the area you eat. Also, I use garlic butter for the dip. At some kitchen shops, you can find artichoke holders used for cooking them. It helps to save the stems. This is one of my favorite dishes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I am new in the kitchen but knew I loved artichokes so I used this recipe and was not disappointed. My only change I made the second time around was to put butter and garlic in the water as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I only have one thing to say about eating artichokes. If you are cutting off the stem and throwing it away you are throwing away one of the best parts. When cooked, the taste and texture is identical to the heart. In fact, some stores sell artichokes with stems 4-6" long. If they didn't taste fantastic, why would anyone pay for something that they were going to cut off and throw away? I never buy a short stemmed artichoke. the long stems are a huge bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azzycray

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
The artichokes turned out great steamed. I just made sure to add more water and steamed for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These were wonderful! Not sure why people are having so much trouble with this. It was my first time to cook an artichoke and I got it figured out. The garlic gloves in leaves were a very nice addition. I just trimmed the points and snipped some outer leaves and threw the choke in the steamer pot. I did 25 mins. and it was perfect. I do agree with some reviewers that you do need a little more water, cause mine was all dried up but luckily it didn't burn the pot. When it was done just remove the chokes and peel off leaf by leaf just scraping the bottom soft part of leaf off with your teeth. This is the perfect way to eat them and fun too for the little one's if you can get them to try it! Thanks Shai for a great artichoke recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Maybe I did it wrong, but mine came out not very good. It was done, but it smelled and tasted awful. I trimmed it and took out the middle part like others suggested and put some butter on it before I steamed it -- maybe that was the problem? I don't know that I'll be trying this again soon. I rated it in the middle because it won't let me write a review without rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States