Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
i didn't have garlic so i had to improvise with garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany
Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Maybe I did something wrong. I made sure not to run out of water when boiling. I snipped all the edges with scissors. I steamed them for about 45 min, as that's how long it seems most people have said it took them. I used butter and instead of slicing the garlic I minced it. The flavor was fine I suppose. My biggest complaint is the artichoke itself. Seems like a LOT of work for such little reward. My artichokes were small in size but nicely round. However, very little "meat" to the leaves. Our home picks out a new veggie to try each week hoping to find a new love. Unfortunately, this will not make it into our meal rotation. Thank you for offering the recipe though. Just a thought though if I should ever change my mind about trying them again... might have a good flavor adding parmesian & seasoned bread crumbs too instead of just butter and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Just how mom makes them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
My family loves this recipe...simple, healthy, and delicious. Even my 2 and 4 year-olds devour almost an entire artichoke! Mine usually do take 20-25 minutes to cook, and it's worth every minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I agree with others...recipe should include a dippin sauce. I melted butter added lemon pepper seasoning and a splash of lemon. Sure makes a fabulous dipping sauce. I also used 4 garlic and extra buter to stuff the artichokes with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Loved this recipe and super easy to follow. I followed what others said about adding more water, but other than that... it was easy!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celena Vincent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very good. Need to add water as suggested and cook for 45 minutes. One more suggestion....add parmesan to the butter and garlic in the initial stage before steaming and also in the butter dip. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I am making this right now, and I already like the idea of the butter and garlic in the leaves. I am deducting one star because no where in the directions does it say when and where to add the salt and pepper so I omitted the pepper and added a little salt and splash of balsamic vinegar to the water. I am also taking off a star because the recipe gives no dipping sauce suggestions, and one tablespoon of butter in the leaves is definitely not enough. I just tested at 20 min and it is still really hard. I also used about an inch of water. I gave my artichoke 15 extra minutes and I think that will be good. so excited to eat it!! I will serve with mayo like always :) maybe butter also. I appreciate this recipe! *****UPDATE: after eating, I see that they need to be cooked for at least 45 minutes. I LOVED the garlic in the leaves and next time will quadruple the amount. I think all the butter melted out of the artichoke so I probably won't be doing that again. Loved it though! yay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Thanks to reviewer KJOH535880, I finally learned how to clean and steam an artichoke. Made it easy. Even my very picky 9 year old ate 1 1/2 large artichokes all for himself. Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jigger Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cascade, Montana, USA
Living In: Cashmere, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I love a good steamed artichoke! I have never cleaned the center out before steaming as one review suggested. But, once you get down to the thin, white leaves with very little meat, it is easy to pull those off. Then, scrape the seeds off and there you have the tasty heart! Dip that in your favorite sauce and enjoy! Your reward for making it though the whole choke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States