Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
What's better than fresh, steamed artichokes? Not much! This recipe works very well but I agree that it usually takes closer to thirty or forty minutes, certainly for the very large artichoke you see in the stores all Spring. I cut the stem so the choke stands upright BUT if the stem is long -- and I try to get those with long stems -- trim the bottom of the piece you cut off and toss it into the pot with the rest. It will cook along with the rest and can be served with the choke. The stem has the same tender and delicious taste as the prized heart and is usually everyone's favorite part. When the chokes about to be served, I toss a few tablespoons of butter (depends on how many chokes you're serving but be generous) into a glass bowl, add some garlic powder and zap until melted. I squeeze fresh lemon, mix it all until blended and the table. We eat the choke first but then use a fork to dip the stem into the butter as a special final taste of heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is delicious! I had huge artichokes so it took about 30 minutes but they were done to perfection. I did add cajun seasoning to the water and sprinkled some on top for some spice. Use whipped butter for dipping with some garlic powder. Whipped butter makes a much frothier butter. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Easy recipe. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Garlic lover? Great recipe! Here are some add'l things I added to the recipe... add a splash of lemon juice to the water to keep from turning brown. Also for those garlic lovers out there use a bulb instead of just a few cloves. Insert 1/4 of a clove per leaf. Last but not least...leave the stem on! Crazy right?!...actually The stalk is just as tender as the artichoke heart (center on the top part of the stem). Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
So simple and so good! Made as written. It did actually have to cook longer than the 20 minutes, I steamed them for 45 minutes and they turned out perfectly! I made a garlic butter to dip the leaves in and my husband really enjoyed it. Thanks for such an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Artichokes are not only delightful to taste, but they are a 'fun food' to eat. I used to beg my grandmother to make me artichokes. Kids have fun scraping the pulp form the leaves and piling the used leaves in a separate dish. Sometimes we used to have a community discard plate and the kids would all try to build great piles of discarded leaves. Great way to get them to eat good food! Try this addition: After cleaning and preping, turn them upside down and smack them top/cut edge down onto counter or cutting board. It opens the leaves. Then you pour a mix of beaten egg, Parmesan cheese into the tops about half way thru cooking. (We put lemon juice in the cook water)The mix sticks to the edible part and is an additional treat. We used to search out the chunks of egg/cheese first thing. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Never having cooked artichokes, I didn't know how to check for doneness. After cooking for 20 minutes, we sat down and they were not even close to done. That is when I read the reviews and saw it needs to cook more like 45 minutes. Luckily this was a casual dinner with my family and not a fancy sit down dinner, or it would have ruined dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
i didn't have garlic so i had to improvise with garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany
Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Maybe I did something wrong. I made sure not to run out of water when boiling. I snipped all the edges with scissors. I steamed them for about 45 min, as that's how long it seems most people have said it took them. I used butter and instead of slicing the garlic I minced it. The flavor was fine I suppose. My biggest complaint is the artichoke itself. Seems like a LOT of work for such little reward. My artichokes were small in size but nicely round. However, very little "meat" to the leaves. Our home picks out a new veggie to try each week hoping to find a new love. Unfortunately, this will not make it into our meal rotation. Thank you for offering the recipe though. Just a thought though if I should ever change my mind about trying them again... might have a good flavor adding parmesian & seasoned bread crumbs too instead of just butter and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Just how mom makes them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States