Artichokes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
great way to prepare and serve artichokes - have been doing this for years and enjoy; yes, a bit of work for what you get out of them, but still good to have on occasion - ONE NOTE: NEVER place discarded leaves down the garbage disposal - these are extremely tough and fibrous and may cause damage to your disposal or clog your drain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonytonitone
Home Town: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Maple Glen, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was great. I did scale it up to 3 artichokes and added more water and cooked twice as long since they were big artichokes. The artichokes turned out with hard outer leaves but tender insides. I think this is the most flesh I've ever scraped off an artichoke. I don't have a steamer so I put the artichokes directly in the water. Half way through the process of cooking, I did scope some of the water/butter mixture and poured all over artichokes. Definitely a keeper and will start using this recipe more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
BEST EVER YEAH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I thought this recipe was only ok. Easy to prepare but not enough flavor even though I doubled the amount of garlic (I really like garlic). I doubt I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Easy way to prepare 2 artichokes: Wash and trim. Place the artichokes in a microwave safe glass bowl filled with 1/2 cup water. Spread leaves of the choke and sprinkle with garlic salt, squeeze juice of one lemon and pour about 1 tsp of olive oil on each one. Cover the bowl with saran wrap tightly and cook for 12 minutes. I test them to make sure the bottom of the artichoke is tender when pierced with a fork..if not cook a little longer. If tender remove, drain juice, cool. I dip each leaf in a mixture of butter, course ground black pepper, soy sauce and lemon juice (all to taste) as I eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This is a great way of preparing artichokes. I totally agree with gem1304 with the idea of adding lemon. The two bitters (the lemon and artichokes) cancel each other out and makes the artichoke really good !! Another way to enjoy them is to cook them as directed and then blanch them in ice water and place them in the fridge for a couple of hours to get them nice and cold. Serve like a salad with your favorite vinaigrette. I make a very simple vinaigrette by combining balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper and garlic in a blender. Turn the blender on and drizzle olive oil in a steady stream to emulsify to your liking. Dip the leaves in that and the are devine !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Pretty good, but a whole lot of work for the tidbits. Whew! Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I absolutely love artichokes and these are so easy to make for a quick healthy lunch. I simply boil them instead of steaming, then squeeze some freash lemon juice on them right before eating them and I eat them siracha (but I eat siracha on everything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I have been making steamed artichokes for years! Lemon juice, garlic powder, olive oil and a little oregano sprinkled onto the artichokes before putting them into a streamer basket filled with water up to the bottom of the basket. YOU MUST WATCH THE POT SO IT DOES NOT GO DRY! Once it comes to a rapid boil you can turn down the heat. If water is getting low, add more water. After about 30-45 mins pull off a leaf from the outside and see if the meaty flesh will pull off with your teeth easily, if not keep timing until it does. Artichokes are awesome dipped into melted butter w/lemon added or hollandaise sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saf4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Loved the idea of rubbing with lemon. Great tips in the reviews, I added the vinegar and served with lemon butter and a balsamic vinaigrette. Steamed with extra water as suggested in the reviews for about 25 minutes, which left the artichoke meat really crisp-tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States