Artichokes in a Garlic and Olive Oil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
My husband and I have been making variations on this recipe whenever we need something quick and easy. We use more olive oil, less butter, more artichokes and cook it longer until the artichokes brown lightly - more flavor. Also we add what's on hand which could be mushrooms, sun-dried tomatoes or left-over cooked chicken. We like pine nuts sprinkled on top at the end. Surprisingly we've never added basil, but now I will try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
It seems a little silly to review this recipe, since I changed so many things. Still, the result was very good, so I'll just detail the changes. I used 8 ounces of pasta, 2 T. of olive oil, and left the butter out entirely. 3 cloves of garlic, dried basil instead of fresh, and a 12 ounce package of frozen artichoke hearts instead of the canned ones. I added salt and pepper to taste, and at the last minute when I mixed everything together with the pasta, I added 4 ounces of cream cheese. I served it with parmesan cheese, and it was REALLY good. Do be sure to cook the artichokes until they're just starting to brown - the flavor is more intense that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Moothart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This is a really good dish. We used a whole box of pasta, 6 garlic cloves, a 14 oz. jar of artichokes, calamata olives and then topped it with parmesan cheese. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Perfect in a pinch - this recipe was fast, delicious and the only ingredient you might not already have in the pantry is the artichoke hearts. A light but rich flavor. Like other reviews, I too added more garlic than recommended and topped with parmesean, but I probably bleed garlic and olive oil so play with it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
i used this recipe for the first time almost a year ago. it has become a regular dish for me since, but when making it last week i realized i never paid attention to the butter and oil amounts in the recipe. i've been using easily half that much of both, sometimes even less. this time, i decided to try it with the prescribed amounts. i couldn't believe how oily it turned out! terrible. this is a wonderful recipe, please try it with less oil and butter. when i make it, i add chopped onion, some sliced baby bella mushrooms and fresh baby spinach. you really only need half to one tablespoon to sautee these. especially if you use the veggies, they have moisture in them so the mixture won't be dry. another note: when i make this i add a good amount of parmesan to the pasta at the end, and i mix crushed red pepper flakes into the artichoke mixture. it's wonderful. except for the oil/butter recommendations, this is a five star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Very good! I added some mushrooms, shrimp and about 1/2 cup of white white. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Absolutely the best! Of course, I did add extra garlic, chopped sundried tomatoes, and a sprinkling of parmesan cheese. We didn't find it oily, it's a typical, tomato sauce-free pasta dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
i make a version of this by using a whole box of farfalle, two small jars of marinated artichoke hearts, black olives, white wine, fresh basil, 2 or 3 garlic cloves, half a sweet onion, lemon pepper, juice from 2 lemons and parmigano regiano cheese. saute the onion and garlic in olive oil then stir in the rest. add the fresh basil and cheese after you have mixed the sauce with the pasta. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I added green onions, a little fresh lemon juice, red pepper flakes and sundried tomatoes and this recipe was awesome -- so light and at the very end I added just a tablespoon or two of the pasta water to it to give it a little more of a saucy feel. It was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This was delicious and so simple. I doubled the recipe using a 14 oz can of artichoke hearts. The only other thing I changed was to season it with salt and pepper after combining the pasta and sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States