Artichoke and Spinach Swirls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Made them for New Years Eve, everyone loved, used asiago instead of parmesan (it's what I had) and added some crumbled goat cheese. I made ahead and froze them and baked as needed. This is now in my keeper file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
The filling could use a little more flavor. I would definitely use cream cheese instead of mayo as suggested by other reviewers. I would also maybe use some minced onion and maybe some red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
These were very good! I added freshly ground black pepper and diced roasted red peppers and took them to work for a Halloween potluck lunch (called them Infected Severed Ears). They were a huge hit, even with the gross, festive name. I strongly recommend freezing the roll for about 30 minutes before trying to cut it into the individual swirls; this will make the roll easier to cut and prevent the filling from oozing out the sides too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very good. Make sure to let your dough defrost for the full 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
These really were spectacular. Just DELICIOUS. I took them to an event and everyone wanted the recipe! I did do the half sour cream/half mayo as suggested and I threw in some feta cheese as well. Then on a whim the other night, I decided to make them for dinner - so I increased the sour cream/mayo to 3/4 cup and added in about 1.5 cups of finely chopped chicken breast. I also added 1/3 cup parmesan cheese and 1/3 cup feta. I cut them a little thicker (made 24 out of the recipe) and baked them a little big longer, but they were FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
These were great. I added 8oz cream cheese because a hot dip I make has cream cheese. It went perfectly with the other ingrediants. There were no leftovers. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardners, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bendersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were a hit! SO yummy! A bit messy to make, but well worth it! I used two packages of fresh spinach and sautéed it, then used a strainer to drain the liquid. Used 1 part mayonnaise and 3 parts sour cream (instead of the ½ cup mayo. Both together give it very nice flavor!) Added ¼ cup goat cheese to shredded parmesan. Make sure the pastry is thawed so you can roll it, but work fast with it, as the warmer it gets; the harder it is to cut. Use a sharp knife! Be sure not to overfill the pastry, as it will ooze out on the final rolls, and will be more difficult to cut and keep together for the transfer to the baking pan. But if you underfill, you’ll just get pastry, so try to find the perfect balance. Baked some standing up, some lying down, and they all baked up fine. SO good! A MUST for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacchante

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
These are great! I made them for my husband's Christmas party and had several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very good little pastries. I forgot about the phyllo dough and hours later realized it was still on top of the fridge. I couldn't get it apart so I just used my rolling pin to make it thin, then added the filling. Bf said to me "they taste like spanakopita, only better". They do kind of, I'll agree. I didn't use enough artichoke but only bc I ran out. I think with more artichokes it will balance the spinach and taste excellent. As it is, we really liked them so I think we'll make again--with more artichoke! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These had a great taste. Instead of rolling it, I cut the puff pastry into 9 squares and made pastry triangles with the filling inside. I may use a little less artichoke and little more spinach next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Fontina Tart

See how to make an easy but elegant savory appetizer.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States