Artichoke and Chickpea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Man was this good! And so easy. I just changed it by adding a little dollop of prepared pesto instead of the sage and a little parmesan on top. Comfort food! And it was more like six servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I love this soup! The lemon juice adds an extra element that just makes the flavors pop! Plus, I love anything with artichokes, so this is an instant favorite. Easy to make into a vegetarian soup, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Great recipe that is as easy as it's author says it is. I altered it to please my picky kids. Left out the red pepper flakes because they hate heat (mommy loves it though) also omitted the sage and used Italian seasoning instead. My can of artichokes already had lemon added so I didn't add more. Pasta definitely makes it a more complete meal, I added 1 and 1/2 cups. Veggie broth was an easy swap for chicken since we are vegan. Everyone had seconds and enjoyed it even the cranky teen who proclaimed it her new favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Wow, this is so good! I have to make a few changes due to personal preference, mainly: omit the sage (really dislike it) and use fresh thyme and oregano instead; also leave out the red pepper flakes to make it toddler-friendly. Don't usually have lemon pepper, so just up the amount of fresh juice to half of a large lemon. Finally, I use canned tomatoes (but look forward to making it with fresh once my garden starts producing!) I serve it over quinoa or rice to soak up the delicious broth. I think it would be good with chicken breasts too (whole or sliced.) Great Summer recipe for when you don't want to turn on the oven, but also very hearty and comforting when the weather is cooler. Thanks, Stellar Jay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was tasty! Went for several suggestions: extra lemon juice (3 tbsp) b/c I love lemon, canned tomatoes, diced chicken, and did about 3 cups chicken broth. Also did extra red pepper b/c I like spice, added mushrooms, and added some lemon pepper. Was yummy and tangy! My husband even liked it even tho he's not crazy about chickpeas. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Great recipe. Doubled it and added about a cup of barley to soak up some of the liquid, as per some of the other reviewers' suggestions. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andygregor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I doubled the chickpeas and artichokes. I also added some sricha hot sauce - really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I've made this recipe twice now. It's one of those great recipes that's based on items you probably already have in your pantry, most of which are inexpensive, so it's a great 2-days-till-payday type of recipe.I've altered this a little bit each time. The first time I made it, I added a bit of quinoa and used canned diced tomatoes. I added fresh sage, but also some dried time. I doubled the artichokes, chick peas, lemon juice, and chili flakes. It was good, but my husband wanted it with more spice. Today, my husband is sick and he wanted something to clear out his sinuses so I made it very spicy by putting in 1 teaspoon of chili flakes and 1 teaspoon of mashed, roasted Thai red chili paste (homemade). I used about 1/2-3/4 teaspoon Italian herbs and about 1 teaspoon dried parsley because I didn't have fresh sage (or dried). I also used a large can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh and added some leftover rotisserie chicken meat. I find it to be very thick--very much a chunky stew--even with adding a full quart of broth, but perhaps that is due to the extra ingredients that I add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsG

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Flavorful, but definitely more of a soup. The carrots added a nice firm chunky texture that was needed. The colors were pretty. The artichoke overwhelmed the flavors in the soup though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is my favorite stew on the planet...seriously. I generally double the artichokes and the garbanzo beans and use two cans of diced tomatoes. The combination of sage, lemon juice, and red pepper flakes is the key!!! I have made this with and without carrots and both are equally delicious. I have also made the stew and then used it to make risotto by draining the liquid a little at a time into the arborio rice and then adding the veggies when the rice is about 2/3 of the way done cooking. This is one of my favorite recipes of all time. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States