Artichoke and Black Olive Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Very tasty, fresh, and light. Different spin to a chicken recipe. I would not recommend this if you do not like olives, or an overall more sour type taste, but if you do then you should definitely try this recipe. I make chicken pretty often and this was one which stands out from the rest. The taste of this is not what you would generally encounter w/ most chicken recipes. Boneless chicken will not work with this; have to use bone in cuts. The skin gives it a lot of the flavor because the sauce seems to attach itself particularily to the skin, and falls into the crevices of where the bones are. When I was making this I thought 2 jars of artichokes were too much, however I still used the 2 and it was just enough (an extra jar on top of that wouldn't hurt either). As I've done many times in different recipes I substituted Vermouth for the wine because it is extra dry and as a result adds more flavor. I substituted the canned olives for premium natural organic olives from a glass jar. I find they have more taste and are generally healthier. A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Make sure to rinse olives and artichokes. Add lots of capers and 4 to 6 cloves of fresh crushed garlic, double the chicken broth, change the wine to 2/3 a cup and add a little extra tarragon and this is awesome. Once done, take the remaining liquid, add a little cornstarch and thicken to taste. Serve on the side with plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I love this! I have a huge round baking dish that's quite unusual and I like to make this in that and put it in the center of the table when it's done. Guests find it pretty impressive looking, and very delicious. I adapt it to a smaller dish when it's just the two of us. I also love the suggestions people have, like sprinkling it with feta..or substituting rosemary or oregano. I don't understand when people say they didn't like something when it's so easy to alter recipes to suit your own taste! Use your imagination and have fun, is what I say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Followed some of the other suggestions. I used 3 chicken breasts and 4 legs , 1 jar of artichokes and 1/2 can (15 oz) sliced olives. I added capers, 3 cloves of garlic and instead of tarragon, I used fresh basil and rosemary. Sauce was great but meat was a little dry. Next time I will use boneless breasts and cook for 30 minutes. Artichokes, olives and sauce were great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
With a few alterations, this recipe turned out wonderful. I cooked only 3 chicken breasts in 1/2 cup of wine and 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I also added 2 cloves of garlic finely chopped and diced tomatoes on top. I cooked fresh artichoke and removed the artichoke hearts myself for a fresh taste (this can take away from the easiness of the recipe, however...). Then I chose to leave out the tarragon. Served with fresh salad and wild rice, this recipe turned out great! It probably would taste even better with capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Sorry, I hate to write a 2-star review, but my husband and I just didn't care for this. My mouth was watering thinking about making this, but even after kicking it up a bit with parmesan cheese and extra herbs (rosemary, basil) and plating it over angel hair pasta, the flavor didn't thrill me. I only had skinless, boneless chicken breasts on hand and quickly browned them prior to putting it all in the oven as I'm not a big fan of poached chicken, but they were dry after only half the amount of cooking time suggested (baked 1/2 hour). I'm sure bone-in and skin-on chicken would improve the chicken flavor/texture, but not necessarily the rest of the sauce. Mind you, it wasn't bad, just wasn't one I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Super yummy! I added capers and a little more wine. I also used cornstarch to thicken the sauce and served over rice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
O.k. but not outstanding. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
My husband and son request this. It is very simple and yummy. It is much better with chicken thighs though. I tried breasts once which turned out dry. Great with angelhair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melissa, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This is a very good dish and easy to make! I made it for company and they loved it. When I make it again for my family, though, I'm going to spice it up a bit. Substituting greek olives for plain black ones would be good. Also, adding paprika or red pepper flakes. I used boneless chicken breasts and it turned out fine, just cooked it about 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States