Artichoke and Black Olive Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Very tasty, fresh, and light. Different spin to a chicken recipe. I would not recommend this if you do not like olives, or an overall more sour type taste, but if you do then you should definitely try this recipe. I make chicken pretty often and this was one which stands out from the rest. The taste of this is not what you would generally encounter w/ most chicken recipes. Boneless chicken will not work with this; have to use bone in cuts. The skin gives it a lot of the flavor because the sauce seems to attach itself particularily to the skin, and falls into the crevices of where the bones are. When I was making this I thought 2 jars of artichokes were too much, however I still used the 2 and it was just enough (an extra jar on top of that wouldn't hurt either). As I've done many times in different recipes I substituted Vermouth for the wine because it is extra dry and as a result adds more flavor. I substituted the canned olives for premium natural organic olives from a glass jar. I find they have more taste and are generally healthier. A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Make sure to rinse olives and artichokes. Add lots of capers and 4 to 6 cloves of fresh crushed garlic, double the chicken broth, change the wine to 2/3 a cup and add a little extra tarragon and this is awesome. Once done, take the remaining liquid, add a little cornstarch and thicken to taste. Serve on the side with plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I love this! I have a huge round baking dish that's quite unusual and I like to make this in that and put it in the center of the table when it's done. Guests find it pretty impressive looking, and very delicious. I adapt it to a smaller dish when it's just the two of us. I also love the suggestions people have, like sprinkling it with feta..or substituting rosemary or oregano. I don't understand when people say they didn't like something when it's so easy to alter recipes to suit your own taste! Use your imagination and have fun, is what I say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Followed some of the other suggestions. I used 3 chicken breasts and 4 legs , 1 jar of artichokes and 1/2 can (15 oz) sliced olives. I added capers, 3 cloves of garlic and instead of tarragon, I used fresh basil and rosemary. Sauce was great but meat was a little dry. Next time I will use boneless breasts and cook for 30 minutes. Artichokes, olives and sauce were great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
With a few alterations, this recipe turned out wonderful. I cooked only 3 chicken breasts in 1/2 cup of wine and 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I also added 2 cloves of garlic finely chopped and diced tomatoes on top. I cooked fresh artichoke and removed the artichoke hearts myself for a fresh taste (this can take away from the easiness of the recipe, however...). Then I chose to leave out the tarragon. Served with fresh salad and wild rice, this recipe turned out great! It probably would taste even better with capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Sorry, I hate to write a 2-star review, but my husband and I just didn't care for this. My mouth was watering thinking about making this, but even after kicking it up a bit with parmesan cheese and extra herbs (rosemary, basil) and plating it over angel hair pasta, the flavor didn't thrill me. I only had skinless, boneless chicken breasts on hand and quickly browned them prior to putting it all in the oven as I'm not a big fan of poached chicken, but they were dry after only half the amount of cooking time suggested (baked 1/2 hour). I'm sure bone-in and skin-on chicken would improve the chicken flavor/texture, but not necessarily the rest of the sauce. Mind you, it wasn't bad, just wasn't one I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
O.k. but not outstanding. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
My husband and son request this. It is very simple and yummy. It is much better with chicken thighs though. I tried breasts once which turned out dry. Great with angelhair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melissa, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This is a very good dish and easy to make! I made it for company and they loved it. When I make it again for my family, though, I'm going to spice it up a bit. Substituting greek olives for plain black ones would be good. Also, adding paprika or red pepper flakes. I used boneless chicken breasts and it turned out fine, just cooked it about 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Super yummy! I added capers and a little more wine. I also used cornstarch to thicken the sauce and served over rice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States