Artichoke and Black Olive Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This was absolutely delicious!!! My only change – less olives (6oz). Couldn’t stop bragging about it, and even shared the recipe with others. The bottom line – it made me a better cook :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
Very tasty, fresh, and light. Different spin to a chicken recipe. I would not recommend this if you do not like olives, or an overall more sour type taste, but if you do then you should definitely try this recipe. I make chicken pretty often and this was one which stands out from the rest. The taste of this is not what you would generally encounter w/ most chicken recipes. Boneless chicken will not work with this; have to use bone in cuts. The skin gives it a lot of the flavor because the sauce seems to attach itself particularily to the skin, and falls into the crevices of where the bones are. When I was making this I thought 2 jars of artichokes were too much, however I still used the 2 and it was just enough (an extra jar on top of that wouldn't hurt either). As I've done many times in different recipes I substituted Vermouth for the wine because it is extra dry and as a result adds more flavor. I substituted the canned olives for premium natural organic olives from a glass jar. I find they have more taste and are generally healthier. A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
My whole family didn't like this one. The chicken didn't absorb any of the flavors and was very bland. I won't be making this again:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTCHN6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I thought this recipe was delicious! I used the advice of others and used garlic powder, basil and tarragon generously. I also used more artichokes and olives, and served with mushroom risotto. I did need to crank up the heat to 500 degrees for the last 10-15m. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
The chicken similar to poached instead of baked. It wasn't bad just not very exciting. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This is a winner! Very easy to make and tasty, but it is NOT a low-fat dish. The chicken definitely must be with skin and bone-in. Thighs and drumsticks work best. I did not use chicken broth - just 1 cup of white wine. Added 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh rosemary (dry one works as well) and freshly ground pepper plus a dash of paprika for stronger flavor. Chicken had too much juice after 1 hour of cooking time - I drained the juice, flipped pieces to the other side and baked 10-15 more minutes at 500 F. This way the soggy side of the chicken formed a little darker and crispier layer. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Substituted sherry for white wine and also added sliced portobellos and freshly ground pepper which gave it needed "zing!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
When I read this recipe I thought it would be great for the South Beach Diet. Howver 736 calories per serving is horrible. No thank you. Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I'm not a fan of chicken on the bone, so I used all boneless skinless chicken breasts and baked them for 40 minutes at 350 and this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Chicken

Baked chicken with a cheesy, creamy sauce and artichoke hearts.

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States