Artichoke Spinach Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I would actually give this a 4.75, only because I found the lasagna to be very watery. Next time I would cut down on the broth. Great tasting, though, and leftovers just as good or better. I used homemade veg broth, which I do for everything. Very easy to make -- just keep all the ends of veggies that you have in a bag in the freezer (carrot ends, broccoli stalks, onion bits, etc). When you have enough to fill a pot, cover them with water and boil until the veggies have basically nothing left! Drain and keep the "broth." You can compost or throw out the soggy veggies, and then freeze the broth for when you need it. Great way to recycle old bits of veggies, and couldn't be healthier or more natural!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
431 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This recipe was wonderful! Some changes I made include: fresh basil instead of rosemary, fresh spinach instead of frozen, and alfredo sauce instead of tomato sauce. I also added chopped portobella mushrooms and a ricotta layer made up of ricotta cheese, 1 egg, mozzarella cheese, fresh parsley, and salt and pepper. I used no-cook noodles to counteract the amount of liquid that the other reviewers talked about. This came out AWESOME! Everyone loved it, and I will definitely make it again. So creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reeders, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
I have made this recipe now several times, and it always comes out perfect. Even people who hate spinach love this recipe. I have found that no matter what type of noodles you use, you don't have to boil them with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Excellent. I sauteed the onion & garlic in a little olive oil instead of Pam for more flavor and didn't bother to spray the baking pan. With the sauce in the bottom of the pan, the lasagna didn't stick. I substituted a little oregano for the rosemary (I guess you could substitute a little basil too), used whole wheat lasagna noodles and, per one reviewer's recommendation, used a jar of (Classico) portobello mushroom sauce. Instead of the frozen spinach, I substituted a 6 oz. bag of baby spinach which I just washed, drained, & chopped into slightly smaller pieces. Although I did chop the artichokes a bit, I'd chop them a little smaller next time. Just a note - this lasagna isn't high (like you'd think of for a meat lasagna). If you'd like it higher, you could probably double the recipe, except for maybe the feta that you sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I made this for an ultra-picky friend once, and need to make it again soon. It's a GREAT variation on the typical meat lasagna. My only changes were to use a home-made sauce, and I never boil my noodles first. I always use regular, dry noodles, and just make sure I've included enough sauce to boil the noodles as the lasagna cooks. The result is a lasagna that isn't runny and holds its shape well, without mushy noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanne Tastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This was so good. I used no boil lasagna noodles and left the artichokes whole and added the juice as well. I also used one bag of fresh prewashed spinach instead of frozen.And I added some ricotta when I layered. I've made it several times, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wineaux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
WOW!! David..please tell me you have more than just this one recipe to share with us. This was an amazing Lasagna. The flavors blend together so well. I only used about 1/2 a cup of broth (I like mine a little on the thick side) and crushed about 1/2 a tsp of dried rosemary since I didn't have the fresh. I added 1/4 a cup of whipping cream to the sauce..to give it a pink look. This is truly a gourmet dish. You could even omit the broth and noodles all together and use this as a dip with french bread. I plan on passing this one along...thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Loved this unique lasagna and it was even better the next day! Used no-cook noodles, fresh spinach, a 32 oz jar of sauce (which it really needed) & regular artichoke hearts instead of marinated. The only thing I would probably do differently next time is to use less rosemary since 1 Tb. was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was fabulous! I couldn't find vegatable broth so I used chicken broth. I also used a 16 oz jar of sun dried tomatoe alfredo sauce instead of spaghetti sauce. After the jar was emptied I filled it up with about 3/4 c of water, shook it and added it to the rest of the mixture. I also drained the artichoke hearts juice into the mixture. This was a BIG hit at my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
This was just okay, nothing too special for all the work it took to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,050) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States