Artichoke Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I love this recipe and the flavor was amazing. I added some heavy cream, as other reviews suggested. It needed it. Also, as some reviews said the top of their pie had burned, I kept checking mine. I have a pretty spot on oven, but by 30 minutes (as opposed to the 45) if I hadn't taken the pie out, it would've burned. So it was perfect, but the bottom of the crust was a little undercooked. Not sure how to fix this problem, next time I might pre bake the pie shell just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I added tomatoes and sour cream. This was awesome! I'm a vegetarian and I love dishes like this that my parents can eat as a side and I can enjoy as a main dish. No one was chokin' on this artichoke pie, knowatI'msayin'?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thanksalot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I think this recipe is ok, but could be improved upon by altering the quantity of certain ingredients. The amount of cheese covers up any other flavors and makes the dish too salty. I'd really suggest making some alterations to get this meal just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Dr. The Ivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I made this & "peeked" at it after 28 minutes in the oven and the entire top was burnt. What did I do wrong? None the less---I peeled off the burnt and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Made this last night as written and it was pretty good. I think if I make it again I would mix all the ingredients together, the bread crumbs that go over the egg are very dry. I also think that it would be great with a mozzarella/feta mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prig2046

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
this recipe was fabulous! simple to make, and so easy to eat!!! a good friend of the family used to make this, when i was a child. i used to believe she was the only person who made it! so i was very happy to find this recipe. hers was a little different, but this was just as good!! i will be making this alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Used marinated artichokes (a little extra) and it was amazing. Tasted awesome, had the best texture. I got so many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Followed some other reviews, used (2) 12oz jars of marinated artichokes (drained) -- used plain bread crumbs with Italian seasonings (full amount of bread crumbs, perhaps with the additional eggs or the additional artichokes it becomes the right amount) I upped it to 6 eggs and added a little milk to them and used about 1/2 the mozzarella cheese (I used part skim) -- enjoyed by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by schpoopy
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Turned out really great! Here is what I tried with it: I made individual ones in a muffin tin instead of a pie plate. For the crust, I used crescent roll dough instead of pie crust. The new cook time was about 20 minutes. They were awesome, and I'm going to serve them on the side of herb roasted chicken sometime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This 4 star review is based on my changes and potential. I'm trying to do low carb, so I did not use a crust, so that this was more like a crustless quiche. I used a 13.75 can of artichoke hearts, and put the artichokes through a a food processor for a few seconds. Made my own bread crumbs from some low carb bread adding in about 1/4 tsp Italian seasoning and a pinch of garlic salt. And I used 4 eggs....then baked for only 30 mins, long enough for the eggs to cook through and the cheese on top to get nice and brown. I will probably make this again, maybe use 5 eggs as one review suggested, and put in an 8" pan to make it a little bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Artichoke Hearts Gratin

See how to make an easy artichoke hearts appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States