Artichoke Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This recipe is great! May I suggest a few revisions? Sub 3 6oz. jars of marinated artichoke hearts for the two cans; it really ups the flavor. You can add up to two more eggs to stretch this recipe out - the filling will rise about an inch over the crust, but won't spill before before it firms up. I added 1 tablespoon of sour cream for each egg, and this was wonderfully moist. Last, I used a sun-dried-tomato and basil flavored mozarella, and thought it really added something. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLOUD2
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Easy to make and absolutely delicious! I followed the other reviewers' helpful advice and increased the amount of artichokes (two 12 ounce jars of Trader Joe's marinated artichokes). I also added 2 tablespoons of heavy cream to the artichoke/bread crumb/parmesan mixture to moisten, and I cut back on the mozzarella by a third. I made this one to celebrate pi day (3-14), and will definitely make it again =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Overall this is a good recipe, but it calls for way too much bread crumbs. They drown out the taste of the artichokes. I will make this again, but next time I will halve the bread crumbs and add an extra jar of artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I made it without the crust and used 1/2 the mozarella cheese to cut down on calories. My 15 year old, my ex-husband who just happened to be stopping by, and I just loved this. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This was very good. I added some leftover spinach to the mix and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Delicious, but a little dry. Next time I will add a layer of fresh tomatos on top of each layer of artichoke mixture for color and a fuller taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
We have been making this for years and love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Heavenly! I used 6 eggs and served as the main course! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Followed some other reviews, used (2) 12oz jars of marinated artichokes (drained) -- used plain bread crumbs with Italian seasonings (full amount of bread crumbs, perhaps with the additional eggs or the additional artichokes it becomes the right amount) I upped it to 6 eggs and added a little milk to them and used about 1/2 the mozzarella cheese (I used part skim) -- enjoyed by everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by schpoopy
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Turned out really great! Here is what I tried with it: I made individual ones in a muffin tin instead of a pie plate. For the crust, I used crescent roll dough instead of pie crust. The new cook time was about 20 minutes. They were awesome, and I'm going to serve them on the side of herb roasted chicken sometime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Artichoke Hearts Gratin

See how to make an easy artichoke hearts appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States