Artichoke Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
We found this a little dry and bland. It was nice to try something different, but don't think we'll have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
So tasty! Simple to make, and the hubby loved it! Another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LANEANN
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I absolutely love this pie! My alterations: 1 lb chicken diced and browned in 2 tsp butter, 4 cloves of garlic, 1/2 medium onion diced, 15 artichoke hearts, 1/4 cup bread crumbs, didn't use olive oil, 5 eggs seasoned with pepper, garlic powder, garlic salt, onion powder, oregano and thyme. Oh my...is this wonderful! Thanks, Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I never follow the recipe exactly, but used this as a guideline. I did not use a crust. Non-marinated artichokes work fine. I added milk as suggested. Served as an appetizer, I cut this into little squares and my guests gobbled it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I think this is an excellent start, but it needs some tinkering. I followed the advice of some of the other reviews and used marinated artichokes and 4 eggs. It still needs a little something else though, some subtle flavor to bind everything together...I just don't know what it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Norton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I just didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I followed the advice from other users, I used 2 12oz jars of marinated artichokes which was a great idea for 2 reasons , 2 -oz jars would have NOT been enough and unmarinated would have made it very bland, HOWEVER the marinade also gave it a slight bitter taste. I cut down on the bread crumb and added 3 tbsp of milk to the egg mixture. It was good, but not great. I would love to hear from others for ways to cut down on the bitterness. Oh, I also sauted 1/2 of an oniom along with the garlic and added pepper to the egg batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
As many others have said, the recipe calls for way too much bread crumbs--it was thick, dry, and saw-dusty, especially in comparison to the other quiches I made along with it for a dinner party (e.g., the Tomato and Basil Quiche on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I did not like this dish at all. I made it as an appetizer course and felt very apologetic when I served it to company. Used the 6oz jars of artichokes as specified and I hated the sour taste that came over in the first few bites. And the dryness toughened up some of the outer artichoke leaves. I won't bother making it again, even with adjustments, as there are so many other good recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLOUD2
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Easy to make and absolutely delicious! I followed the other reviewers' helpful advice and increased the amount of artichokes (two 12 ounce jars of Trader Joe's marinated artichokes). I also added 2 tablespoons of heavy cream to the artichoke/bread crumb/parmesan mixture to moisten, and I cut back on the mozzarella by a third. I made this one to celebrate pi day (3-14), and will definitely make it again =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Artichoke Chicken

Baked chicken with a cheesy, creamy sauce and artichoke hearts.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States