Artichoke Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
So tasty! Simple to make, and the hubby loved it! Another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LANEANN
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I absolutely love this pie! My alterations: 1 lb chicken diced and browned in 2 tsp butter, 4 cloves of garlic, 1/2 medium onion diced, 15 artichoke hearts, 1/4 cup bread crumbs, didn't use olive oil, 5 eggs seasoned with pepper, garlic powder, garlic salt, onion powder, oregano and thyme. Oh my...is this wonderful! Thanks, Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I never follow the recipe exactly, but used this as a guideline. I did not use a crust. Non-marinated artichokes work fine. I added milk as suggested. Served as an appetizer, I cut this into little squares and my guests gobbled it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I think this is an excellent start, but it needs some tinkering. I followed the advice of some of the other reviews and used marinated artichokes and 4 eggs. It still needs a little something else though, some subtle flavor to bind everything together...I just don't know what it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Norton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I just didn't care for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I followed the advice from other users, I used 2 12oz jars of marinated artichokes which was a great idea for 2 reasons , 2 -oz jars would have NOT been enough and unmarinated would have made it very bland, HOWEVER the marinade also gave it a slight bitter taste. I cut down on the bread crumb and added 3 tbsp of milk to the egg mixture. It was good, but not great. I would love to hear from others for ways to cut down on the bitterness. Oh, I also sauted 1/2 of an oniom along with the garlic and added pepper to the egg batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
As many others have said, the recipe calls for way too much bread crumbs--it was thick, dry, and saw-dusty, especially in comparison to the other quiches I made along with it for a dinner party (e.g., the Tomato and Basil Quiche on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I did not like this dish at all. I made it as an appetizer course and felt very apologetic when I served it to company. Used the 6oz jars of artichokes as specified and I hated the sour taste that came over in the first few bites. And the dryness toughened up some of the outer artichoke leaves. I won't bother making it again, even with adjustments, as there are so many other good recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLOUD2
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Easy to make and absolutely delicious! I followed the other reviewers' helpful advice and increased the amount of artichokes (two 12 ounce jars of Trader Joe's marinated artichokes). I also added 2 tablespoons of heavy cream to the artichoke/bread crumb/parmesan mixture to moisten, and I cut back on the mozzarella by a third. I made this one to celebrate pi day (3-14), and will definitely make it again =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
very good, everyone loved it but I thought it was a little bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Acker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States