Artichoke Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Four stars as written, as these would inarguably be on the “ho-hum” side, flavor-wise. But with a few small additions, these are easily elevated to five stars, particularly if you’re an artichoke lover like me. (I love artichokes so much that Santa used to put them in my Christmas stocking when I was a kid, but I digress) More butter, a chunk of cream cheese and fresh parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme made these exceptional. Ahhh, for summer, when otherwise expensive fresh herbs are plentiful right in your own back yard! I’d like to try other herbs as well – fresh oregano, dill or rosemary are all interesting possibilities. Very creative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Very yummy. This recipe is really a more healthy alternative to traditional mashed potatoes. I roasted a few cloves of garlic and threw that into the food processor with the artichokes and milk. The recipe as written calls for very little butter, but the artichoke mixture was so creamy I was able to use even LESS and my potatoes were still moist and creamy! Healthy, easy, quick, delicious - everything I need in a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
These are really good if you're an artichoke lover. Since some reviewers said it made a lot, I used 3 large potatoes, and 2 cans of artichokes. I left about 5 artichoke hearts out of the puree and roughly chopped them, I wanted some chunks of them in the mash. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Delicious and creamy, without all of the "bad stuff" in normal mashed potatoes. My new favorite! Just be sure you cut all of the leaves off the hearts- they mess with the texture, and make for an unpleasent find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
These were good. I bought a jar of marinated artichokes and I next time I won't (didn't care for the marinade). Hubby LOVED them! He made TWO sandwiches with them and the "French Bread Rolls to Die For". LOL, he's just like a kid! I will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
WOW these were so good!!! Creamy and smooth especially with fresh garlic. I just recently learned to eat artichokes (mainly because of those restaurant spinach appetizers)! I followed recipe except for only using a half a jar of artichokes cause I was worried the kids wouldn't eat them. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
i would LOVE to give this recipe 5 stars, but it was just not THAT good! i was so excited to try it, but it was a let down. the only thing i did different was, diced my artichoke hearts instead of puree them. everything else was done according to the recipe. there was just no flavor beyond the normal "mashed potato" flavor. i was quite dissapointed. i may try again, if i happen to have some artichoke hearts that need to be used, but other than that, i will not buy them just for this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Delicious. Did add a little parmesan cheese as suggested. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was super easy to make and totally delicious. I made a few small changes, I doubled the recipe and I added 1 cup of parmesan cheese and 1 TBSP of Italian seasoning and 1 tsp celery salt to this recipe. For a change it can be spread in a greased pan, sprinkled with chedder/mozzerella shredded cheese and baked @ 350 degrees until cheese is melted and potatos are warm. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heartfulloffaith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Easy and healthy alternative to using sour cream and cream cheese. I used vanilla soy milk, which makes recipes even more creamier! This was something different and lots of good flavors to take in. I will make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States