Artichoke Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made this today for a dinner with friends we were hosting and no one liked it :( It ended up bland and kind of tart. I think the artichokes took over the flavor too much. We tried to doctor it up with parmesan but it just wasn't very good. I'm so glad we made mac and cheese as well or we'd have no starch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Awesome! Loved them!! Only had a 12oz jar of artichokes and put in extra garlic but they are great...will only make these from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Four stars as written, as these would inarguably be on the “ho-hum” side, flavor-wise. But with a few small additions, these are easily elevated to five stars, particularly if you’re an artichoke lover like me. (I love artichokes so much that Santa used to put them in my Christmas stocking when I was a kid, but I digress) More butter, a chunk of cream cheese and fresh parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme made these exceptional. Ahhh, for summer, when otherwise expensive fresh herbs are plentiful right in your own back yard! I’d like to try other herbs as well – fresh oregano, dill or rosemary are all interesting possibilities. Very creative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
The artichoke taste was wierd and they were way too garlicky. Unfortunately, I served these to guests because they rated so high and no body liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
It was a tad dry for how I like mashed potatoes, so with a touch extra liquid this is a 5-star recipe! Such a simple side dish, and with potential to be far less fatty than mashed potatoes without sacrificing flavor! SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
When I saw this recipe, I thought it sounded delicious! But, it was very bland. I doubled the recipe to make 12 servings. I also added a cup of sour cream, a teaspoon of horseradish, 1/4 cup more of butter, and used a total of 3 cloves of garlic. This helped, but I would play around with it more before serving it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayNY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massapequa Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Easy and healthy alternative to using sour cream and cream cheese. I used vanilla soy milk, which makes recipes even more creamier! This was something different and lots of good flavors to take in. I will make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I liked it with Parmeson, Italian seasoning and celery salt. It was very flavorful, and the kids liked it too! Bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was very good! Slightly dry but still quite tasty. I used vegan butter spread and soy milk to make it a vegan side dish for Thanksgiving! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdohpaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
i would LOVE to give this recipe 5 stars, but it was just not THAT good! i was so excited to try it, but it was a let down. the only thing i did different was, diced my artichoke hearts instead of puree them. everything else was done according to the recipe. there was just no flavor beyond the normal "mashed potato" flavor. i was quite dissapointed. i may try again, if i happen to have some artichoke hearts that need to be used, but other than that, i will not buy them just for this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States