Artichoke Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
The key to keeping this recipe from being "too greesy" is to not over cook it. Anytime a cheese/mayo/sour cream/whatever dip has greese floating on the top, it's because it was over cooked and has "seperated". Every oven is different so cook just until the cheese has melted and then take it out and let the cheese continue to melt from the heat that the baking dish and the contents are providing. Once it is over cooked and has seperated, you can't mix the greese back in. You have to eat it like that or throw it out like one reviewer did, twice. I also would take the advice of another reviewer and use a lighter mayonaise or artichokes packed in water, but if you keep a close eye on the dip it shouldn't come out greesy like some of the complaints have said. Thanks for a great recipe. P.S. use fresh garlic for more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I love artichokes, but hate mayonnaise, and I had a hard time trying to find a recipe that didn't call for mayo. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, but I substituted one can of reduced sodium cream of celery soup for the mayo. It was phenomenal. Everyone said it was the best they ever had. I noticed that it didn't get oily on top like I've seen other dips get, and the consistency was very creamy. It was even great reheated the next day. I'm sure you could even substitute reduced-fat soup and have the same effect. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I looked this recipe up to see how long the cooking time was and to see if it differed from mine. I use two cans of artichoke hearts packed in water and with that change I give it five stars. Some readers complained of the grease, that is probably from using the artichokes packed in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
WOW!!! I made this for Christmas and it was gone quick! Everyone loved it. I only made a few changes by adding 2 garlic cloves instead of powder, and I also added mozzarella cheese to the top so that it browned and was all yummy and crunchy. :) I tore up some french bread, toasted it in the oven and served it with the dip. I don't think there was one person at the party that didn't request the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joloves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Really good. Based on some of the other reviews, and on personal preferences, I did some things slightly differently. I used half parmesan, half romano in place of the 1 c parmesan. I used canned artichokes (chopped well) in water to cut down on the grease. I watched it carefully in the oven and took it out as soon as the edges were crisp and brown. Big hit, everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
I made this dip for the first time hoping that it would taste like my friend's recipe. I didn't like it at all. Making the dip wasn't difficult at all, but having to use as much mayo as it called for just grossed me out. The artichoke dip was too greasy and it tasted too much like mayonnaise. Never again will I make this for me or for my husband. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This recipe was great, I used two cans of artichokes (14.5 oz in water - not marinated in oil and light mayo), and served it with cut up pita bread. My guests went crazy for it and ate every bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Great recipe, and was very popular. Be certain and use all the parmesan cheese called for. I also used 8oz of sour cream, 1/4tsp red cayenne pepper and baked it a little longer. Very good, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I have made this dip on multiple occasions and it's always the first appetizer to get finished off. Can be a little greasy if you cook too long, so keep an eye on it during baking as the other reviewers said. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I loved this dip. The only thing I changed was I cut up the artichoke hearts even more. I didn't like getting a large mouthful of artichoke heart on my cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States