Artichoke Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Recipe was a good foundation, and then I added extra lump crab meat, some well cooked bacon bits, parsley, the juice of one whole lemon and a handful of both mozzarella and cheddar cheese. I served the dip with sea salt bagel chips. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
Oh my god. This is the best crab dip ever. I used the imitation crabmeat and it is wonderful. I took it to work one day and everybody loved it. My boyfriend keeps asking me to make it like every other day. DELICIOUS !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This was easy.but I found it bland. It was better on the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I fixed this crab spread for Christmas eve as an appetizer & it was great, servered it on crackers. I used fresh crab claw, called Phillips crab found in refrigerated section of seafood department. Not cheap, about $8.00 but worth it & I only used half as I was making this for only 2 people but still had leftovers that warmed great in the microwave. Will definately serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holliday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waverly, New York, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made this for my yearly 4th of July party! I didn't find Old Bay Seasoning but added Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning and some garlic and extra crab. It gave it a little kick and was a huge hit at the party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Kamchatka Oblast, Russia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Wonderful recipe! I used canned crab meat and it was great! Using a mixer was kinda messy though. Next time I will try to just "blend it well". Was a hit at Thanksgiving! Even my mother-in-law loved it! And the little bit that was left over tasted great the next day! I just reheated it in the microwave. DEFINITELY a keeper!! Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I took this to a family holiday gathering and it went over wonderfully! Very good dip with crackers or sourdough bread triangles. I used canned crab, but think it would be better with fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This was a huge hit at a party; I used backfin crabmeat which costs a lot but was worth it; I also used the smallest artichoke hearts available (in a can). The dish was elegant; I used a fancy pie plate and toasted pita chips (found at the supermarket) for the dipping "utensils", garlic or plain bagel chips would also do well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 3 stars because I felt it needed more flavor. I'd only give my change a 4 star. First of all, I agree you MUST double the crabmeat. I also added cheese like another reviewer suggested, put in some scallions and increased my seasonings. Personally, I like my dips with a bit of zing. I would make this again, but next time I'd add a small can of green chiles to spice it up and maybe some jalapeno monterary jack instead of the mozza and cheddar that I used. Good recipe, just needs some tweaking, it lacks flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Loved by all! Easy to make. For presentation I hollowed out a loaf of Italian bread & served the dip in it; and used the "discarded" bread, as well as specialty crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States