Artichoke Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
WOW! Super-fantastic! We LOVED this chicken dish! I used marinated artichokes and chopped them fine (I believe they added to the overall flavor). I used 1.5t minced garlic and a dash of salt and pepper in place of the garlic pepper (I didn't have any). I completely drained the artichokes but still ended up with some liquid in the pan (I'm puzzled where it came from), but it may have helped to flavor the chicken. Company-worthy or a nice change of pace for everyday fare. Excellent post! 01/10/05 - Made this AGAIN and realized that the water is definitely coming from the artichokes. I squeezed them before chopping and extracted a lot more liquid. You simply got to use marinated artichokes to capture that extra flavor! We also sliced the chicken breasts into strips, and added 5 pieces of precooked bacon (heated & crumbled) to the artichoke mixture. Simply FANTASTIC! I've NEVER rated a recipe twice - this is that good!! Just drain and squeeze the artichokes and your water problem will disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
547 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I hate to change my prior five-star rating to a four-star, but the first time I made this I subbed half the mayo with sour cream. I just made this as-writte, with the full amount mayo, and it's really really oily, and leaves an aftertaste. I still love this recipe and will make it again, but you really need to swap out some of the mayo for sour cream. With that change, it's fabulous. Once again, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
512 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This was so good! I did make a few changes: I was cooking for 6 and used 8oz fat free sour cream, 1/2c light Hellmans mayo, 1c shredded parm. I also sauteed in 1 Tbs. butter: 3 large garlic cloves (minced) with an 8oz jar of mushrooms (drained and chopped.) I let the mushroom mixture cool and then mixed the ingredients as in recipe. I did use marinated artichokes as others suggested. I also sprinkled a little Italian Bread Crumbs over the top and then sprayed with Butter cooking spray to get it to "crisp the top" I baked mine for 40 minutes in a 375 oven. I served the chicken on top of whole wheat egg noodles. Juicey, Tastey....no left overs!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
481 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BFit4You

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I've been making this recipe for years, having gotten it from my mom. I don't change a thing and can't imagine why anyone would want to. It has never failed to receive rave reviews and my guests think I spent hours in the kitchen. There is so much flavor that it needs to be served with a simple salad with a light tasting dressing like Newman's olive oil & vinegar, and some fresh asparagus and yum, yum, yummo. I've used the powdered parmesean in a pinch and it's still good. If you're needing all that change, perhaps it's your choice of mayonnaise. The salt/pepper should go directly on the chicken before pouring over the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
this was delicious and very easy to make. i recommend using half mayo and half sour cream, i thought it tasted better then when i used only mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was fantastic. We caramelized 1/2 onion in 3 tbsps of olive oil and a 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes. We removed the onion and then sauteed a 1/2 pound of fresh sliced mushrooms with 3 cloves of minced garlic. We halved two chicken breasts thickness wise to make four breast servings. We buttered a shallow glass baking dish and layered the bottom of the dish with a bag of pre washed baby spinach. We placed the halved breast on top of the layer of spinach and topped each breast with caramelized onions and mushrooms. We drained two 12 oz. jars of marinated artichokes reserving a 1/4 cup of the marinade. We drizzled the reserved marinade over the spinach, breasts, caramelized onions and mushrooms. We then covered each breast with the recipe mixture of mayo, parmesan cheese, marinated artichokes and garlic pepper. Lastly, we VERY LIGHTLY sprinkled cayenne pepper over the dish. Baked at 375 for 50 minutes or until the topping is golden. OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Used half sour cream half RF Miracle Whip and marinated artichoke hearts. Turned out moist and full of flavor. Made half this way, and the other half with 10 oz. thawed spinach and sauteed portobello mushrooms. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This is a standby for me. Everyone loves it. You can also make it with frozen artichoke hearts for a little less sodium. Sprinkle a few capers on top. Top with a little paprika or cayenne. Use boneless chicken thighs for the dark meat lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I thought this recipe was very good. Its not real appetizing when it comes out of the oven. I would definitely sprinkle it with breadcrumbs next time and some paprika....or maybe put it under the broiler for a couple minutes to brown it up a bit. My husband liked it alot. I did use lite mayo. I would definitely make it again. It was super easy!!! I made steamed asparagus with it and couscous.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This was really good. I did take the advice of others and use half sour cream and half mayo. I also browned the chicken first in some olive oil. I also had a small bit of shredded mozzarella cheese leftover in the fridge so I threw that in too. My family liked it, so I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Chicken

Baked chicken with a cheesy, creamy sauce and artichoke hearts.

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States