Artichoke, Cheese and Olive Antipasto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My 5 year old loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Barton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
We enjoyed this recipe and will make it again. I do advise, as other have also, to cut the cheese amount in half. Also it does not indicate whether one should use water packed or oil packed artichokes. Go for the oil packed, but drain and set aside the oil. Then add the olive oil to the reserved liquid (or the olive oil first and then reserved marinade) and add into the mixture to taste. Some people prefer less liquid, like me. I'd also go easy on the balsamic. I used a cheese with a salt and pepper rind. Yummy. If you want to make Bruscetta, buy sliced black olives instead of whole and cut all ingredients to pea-sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is very good, and yes--it gets better with time. It makes a TON, so if you dont want a ton of it, you could easily cut it in half. I "pulsed" the artichokes, olives, and peppers in my food processor and added the cheese chunks after. It came out like a chunky tapanade. I also cut out the extra olive oil because the artichokes had a ton of liquid/oil already and I didnt see the point of adding more oil. It was excellent without it. I, too, thought a pound of cheese was way too much, so I used about 8oz of smoked provolone. The addition of the cheese is a must. I served it on warm baguette, but crackers would be great too. All-in-all, this is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Great if you love olives and vinegar! I also added Sons of Italy marinated mushrooms without the brine. I made this for Christmas. Two days later I made it again at a guest's request. The first time I made it I chopped the ingredients in bite-sized chunks. The second time I chopped the ingredients into smaller pieces. The smaller pieces were better. This permitted more of a variety of items on the cracker and made for more graceful eating. Thanks for the great recipe. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I brought this as an appetizer to a potluck babyshower. Everyone loved it. I could not find smoked provolone so sub'd smoked mozzarella & smoked white cheddar. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Sounds delish, is there anyway to make this "heart healthy", like maybe reduce the sodium? All suggestions welcome and greatly appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G-BAY COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Since I was "pot-lucking" this and not serving/garnishing, I added the basil to the dressing. Because some in the group don't tolerate oregano well, I substituted thyme. I couldn't find smoked provolone, so used regular and it worked fine. After dicing 1/2 lb. of provolone it looked like enough, so I didn't add the remaining 1/2 lb. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I put the first three ingredients into a food processor for a few seconds. Fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Substituted marinated Greek olives ( also used pimento stuffed olives) for black olives which we don't like. Made way too much for one loaf of bread, then had left overs and the cheese in the wet salsa was not good the next day. However it was a raving good salsa for the bruschetta we made if eaten immediately. We tried making bruschetta by browning 1/4" diagonally-sliced baguette sprayed with butter under broiler but burned. So we added olive oil and butter to a fry pan and turned the baguette pieces in fry pan til golden and they were spectacular.Can control beautiful coloring with constant supervision. Serve bread warm and salsa room temp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitehall, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States