Artichoke Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Took quite a bit of tweeking, but good results. I doubled recipe and also added thawed chopped spinach. Added about a cup of sour cream and 8 oz. cream cheese instead of all the mayo. Also garlic powder to taste, and cajun spice too. Very rich - served in bread bowl with toasted sourdough slices and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This was very easy and YUMMY! But it doesn't make enough - I doubled the recipe and it was just enough for an appetizer for 4 artichoke loving adults. If you're making it for a party you'll probably want to make at least 4 times what the recipe calls for. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Taste as good, if not better than any restaurant. I used the whole can of artichokes and added extra on the cheeses. Only "extra" ingredient I added was about 5 cloves of minced garlic. The garlic added the perfect touch (imo). Mmmm Mmmmm Yummy..........(update).........I made this again for a card party and forgot to put the garlic in that time, it was still good, but I decided I really like the garlic addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Tasted wonderful (a TINGE too much mayo, maybe) but a thin layer of grease rose to the top upon re-heating...if anyone could post how to avoid this, I'd be happy to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is great! I used 1/2 mayo, 1/2 cream cheese, and garlic. Of note: recipe calls for canned artichoke hearts, NOT marinated ones. This is probably the problem some have had with the "grease" issue. Canned artichoke hearts are in lightly salted water only, no oil. I think next time I will add chopped spinach as an extender. I served it with a rustic roasted garlic loaf. There was nothing left! That speaks for itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
I made this for Christmas and got RAVE reviews on it from many of my relatives! Everyone agreed it is best eaten warm. Also, I made it the night before and then re-heated before everyone came over. My husband tasted it both times and said it was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
sooo easy and soo good! Simple but delicious. I usually quadruple this recipe and bake in a large casserole or 9x13 glass pan for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I really love the taste of this but I thought it was too oily. I had to keep scooping the oil out of it, making it difficult to put out and serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBI215

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
This dip was a hit with all during the holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very good. I also doubled the recipe, and was glad I did because even doubled it wasn't a 'large' appetizer for a party... Everyone loved it, and THIS review is a TRUE FIVE, bacause I didn't add or take away any ingredients like some of the other 5's did... Delicious... Try this one... ***EDIT***CHANGE OF STAR RATING*** Made this again, and was disappointed. I now realize why some people said watery and or greasy... The first time, I used a can of whole artichokes. I drained them on a paper towel, and then chopped them myself. This time, I used the already chopped artichokes. I think because even with the can drained, the layers to the artichokes hold alot of moisture. So, this time it was watery, making the grease show up more, in an oil and water don't mis sort of way. If the recipe sounds good to you, try draining very well, and towards the end of baking, sprinkle top with fresh grated parmesan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States