Arroz con Pollo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This was great! I seasoned the chicken with a little bit of onion powder and salt and pepper and I used chicken breasts instead (that's what I had) and paprika instead of saffron for color and it was great!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I have eaten at a Cuban restaurant in Orange, California that features this plate. I followed the recipe to a tee and this came out just like what I had at this wonderful little restaurant on the circle in Orange. I give this the highest rating because of the taste and because 6 members of my family had there mouth watering for more. By the way, I am a 49 year old male who enjoys to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was very good. I took the advice of a few previous reviewers. Before browning seasoned with Goya adobo, Reduced onion down to 1 and increased garlic to 4. I did not use the boullion cubes I increased beer to 1 1/4 cup and used 1 1/2 cups chicken broth. 1 cup of frozen peas instead of canned. Baked covered at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. Flavor was very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
The chicken was good and soft and the rice had great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This is a great authentic Cuban recipe. I did add a little water to it and cook it covered so the flavors were not as strong as Cuban arroz con pollo usually is. I also left out the peas and pimenton for the kids who found this to be a huge hit! I served it with fresh bread, a green salad and red wine. Next time I will make the maduros to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Ahhh... just like dad used to make!! (He was Puerto Rican) I never got his recipe & now I can't, but this brought back memories of when he would do the cooking after school! I used water instead of beer cause I only had a superthick, dark variety of beer on hand (and no chicken broth) and it was delicious. And as others said, it did take longer for the rice to cook, but it was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
This recipe was delicious! It took more time than indicated. The rice took forever to cook as did the chicken! Overall, it was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
The end result of this recipe was a great tasting meal. However, I had to add 1 1/2 cups of water to the dish because the rice did not cook at all just using the ingredients listed. After adding the additional water, I extended the cooking time by 15 mins., with the pan covered, and it cooked the rice. In the future, I will add the water and cook just as I would any rice dish, covered and for about 20 mins. on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
Very easy and tasty recipe. You can use lots of substitutes in this too, especially a tasty pasta sauce for the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States