Arroz con Pollo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
Thank you Sussell for sharing your recipe. I grew up loving the Cuban Arroz con Pollo, but never fixed it myself. I don't remember the tomato sauce in it, so I left that out and used chicken broth in its place. Baked it in the oven at 350 for 1 1/2 hours. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
This was very good, I loved it! I didn't have any beer but subtituted chicken broth and no saffron but I used some Goya Sazon to season the chicken with and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
This actually tasted better the second day when heated up. Easy to make and kid friendly despite the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
It tastes like authenic Spanish rice with chicken and was really easy to make. I substituted the beer with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
My husband loved this receipe. He said it reminded him of being back home in Mexico. I used the beer and even though the receipe didn't say so I actually cooked it with the rice covered. The chicken was excellent and the rice so yummy!! I wanted to try this recipe with just chicken breast but my husband insisted that the bones make it all taste better. If anyone tried it boneless I would like to know how it tasted. Still... a Great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
Very easy and tasty recipe. You can use lots of substitutes in this too, especially a tasty pasta sauce for the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
The end result of this recipe was a great tasting meal. However, I had to add 1 1/2 cups of water to the dish because the rice did not cook at all just using the ingredients listed. After adding the additional water, I extended the cooking time by 15 mins., with the pan covered, and it cooked the rice. In the future, I will add the water and cook just as I would any rice dish, covered and for about 20 mins. on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
This recipe was delicious! It took more time than indicated. The rice took forever to cook as did the chicken! Overall, it was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Ahhh... just like dad used to make!! (He was Puerto Rican) I never got his recipe & now I can't, but this brought back memories of when he would do the cooking after school! I used water instead of beer cause I only had a superthick, dark variety of beer on hand (and no chicken broth) and it was delicious. And as others said, it did take longer for the rice to cook, but it was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This is a great authentic Cuban recipe. I did add a little water to it and cook it covered so the flavors were not as strong as Cuban arroz con pollo usually is. I also left out the peas and pimenton for the kids who found this to be a huge hit! I served it with fresh bread, a green salad and red wine. Next time I will make the maduros to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States