Arroz con Pollo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I really liked this recipe. I did as suggested and covered after adding the rice. I also used diced tomatoes instead of sause. Came out very good. I will definately make this again and recommend. LISA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This recipe is not written very clearly. Based on the recipe as written there is not nearly enough liquid for the amount of rice. It appears that the bouillion cubes need to be dissolved in water then added. The extra 2 cups of liquid would have made a huge difference, as would covering the pan. Additionally, it says to drain the peas, then add them with the liquid. The taste was good, but as written it is a disaster. Probably would benefit from a bit of cilantro as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This was great! I seasoned the chicken with a little bit of onion powder and salt and pepper and I used chicken breasts instead (that's what I had) and paprika instead of saffron for color and it was great!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I have eaten at a Cuban restaurant in Orange, California that features this plate. I followed the recipe to a tee and this came out just like what I had at this wonderful little restaurant on the circle in Orange. I give this the highest rating because of the taste and because 6 members of my family had there mouth watering for more. By the way, I am a 49 year old male who enjoys to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was very good. I took the advice of a few previous reviewers. Before browning seasoned with Goya adobo, Reduced onion down to 1 and increased garlic to 4. I did not use the boullion cubes I increased beer to 1 1/4 cup and used 1 1/2 cups chicken broth. 1 cup of frozen peas instead of canned. Baked covered at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. Flavor was very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
The chicken was good and soft and the rice had great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This is a great authentic Cuban recipe. I did add a little water to it and cook it covered so the flavors were not as strong as Cuban arroz con pollo usually is. I also left out the peas and pimenton for the kids who found this to be a huge hit! I served it with fresh bread, a green salad and red wine. Next time I will make the maduros to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERNARAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Ahhh... just like dad used to make!! (He was Puerto Rican) I never got his recipe & now I can't, but this brought back memories of when he would do the cooking after school! I used water instead of beer cause I only had a superthick, dark variety of beer on hand (and no chicken broth) and it was delicious. And as others said, it did take longer for the rice to cook, but it was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
This recipe was delicious! It took more time than indicated. The rice took forever to cook as did the chicken! Overall, it was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pasta con le Sarde

See how to make simple pasta with sardines and fennel.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States