Arroz con Pollo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This was really good. Although, I did learn that the can of beer really should be something mild like Bud Light. I added Molston XXX that I already had on hand and it left too strong a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This was a great Cuban dish. I tried this for the first time for a Cuban friend of ours, she said it was like being back in Cuba. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSHarper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This recipe is REALLY good. My husband and my 15-month-old son gobbled it up. I omitted the beer and used chicken broth instead. Seasoned the chicken with adobo before browning it and I too covered it and let it simmer for approx. 20 mins. I have no idea how that rice would have cooked other wise. I think next time, I'll only use 1 bullion cube to ease up on the saltiness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I always saute the uncooked rice just until it becomes translucent.This way, it holds a nice texture throughout the simmering process. This recipe is best, subbing chicken broth for tomato sauce and using frozen peas rather than canned. Top with cheese for a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
I followed past reviews and left out the tomato and instead of beer, used chix stock. Anyhow, this was mediocre at best. My sister, who usually isn't hard please said, "Eww, the rice tastes FUNKY!". Chicken was plain, rice was whatever, smelled nice, tasted otherwise. And to think I wasted saffron on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
like everyone else said it's horribly written, but it turned out fan-frickin-tastic with a few modifications. i added 1.5 c chicken broth, some other veggies, and i covered it so the rice would cook right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
I didn't like this recipe much. It was waaay too sweet for my taste. I think the sweet juice from the peas may have been too much in combo with the tomato sauce. I did not have saffron, so I am not sure how much this would affect the overall flavor. I gave it 3 stars because I thought it would be a good dish for someone who likes this sort of dish sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
This recipe was wonderfully tasty. I made it for a group of friends and it was a hi! I will definitely make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This was Great! The flavor is wonderful. Our family loves this dish. I have made this many times but lost my recipe. I was glad to find it here on your site. It was really close to my origional. Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Great taste, but took longer to cook the rice than 10 minutes. We use CalRose rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Pasta con le Sarde

See how to make simple pasta with sardines and fennel.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States