Arroz con Pollo II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Great recipe! My supermarket was out of Saffron, so I used the Vigo Spanish saffron rice instead of white rice. I followed the package directions for liquid and used about 3 cups of chicken broth. I also omitted the beer. I have no doubt that the leftovers will not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
There's something wrong with the way this recipe is written. I would suggest making the rice on the side then adding it to the chicken/veg mixture. Or add more liquid, cover and steam the rice until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
The recipe definitely needs more water or the rice will end up crunchy. It was missing some zest... maybe a squeeze of lime would have helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Really nice bold flavor. I prepared it a little differently than the instructions say. I cooked the rice, which I first sauteed in a little EVOO, separately, then added it to the chicken/tomato sauce mixture. Good and simple. Thanks, Sussell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was very good. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I found this recipe to be very good. I liked the idea that this is a very easy way to make arroz con pollo. I am a cuban man living in japan and I wanted to eat arroz con pollo so I descided to try to make it myslef. It was very good. I also had trouble with the rice not being cooked fully. So I just added more beer over 15 min period of time. It came out good. I like that this was easy to make to....And you dont have to do a million other things on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLITOS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ayase, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This was good, though I did make changes. I didn't have green pepper so used red bell pepper instead. I omitted the red pepper at the end that the recipe calls for to top it iwth. I didn't have saffron so used 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp New Mexico chili powder and 1 tsp cajun seasoning, whcih is what I had. Also used a Corona beer, but only used 1 c and used 2 c of water. If you are using 1.5 cups of rice, you need 3 cups of liquid. Added in frozen peas. Also for the chicken, I boiled it in garlic powder and water, then shredded it. Cooked it in oil in pan wiht seasonings then added it to the rice mixture. Sauteed the rice with pepper and onion all together for five minutes, as if making spanish rice. It turned out pretty well, though mine also had a strong beer flavor despite the light version I used. Would make again though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
i made this dish, and the rice turned out very hard and crunchy.. had to add more beer and water to cook rice throughly.. ended up being very sticky with not much flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bashia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This was really good. Although, I did learn that the can of beer really should be something mild like Bud Light. I added Molston XXX that I already had on hand and it left too strong a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This was a great Cuban dish. I tried this for the first time for a Cuban friend of ours, she said it was like being back in Cuba. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States