Arroz con Pollo (Chicken and Rice) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
So easy and so delicious! I would say the only changes I made were to use fresh garlic instead of the Goya minced, and I didn't need the sliced pimientos for garnish. It was great without it. And I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs which was what I had on hand. Next time I'll try cutting the oil down to 2 tbsp. to cut down on fat a little. But the whole family loved this, and my kids can be pretty picky eaters. Two big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Delicious! I used real garlic instead of the goya brand and i added chopped red peppers. It was very good. very authentic. Reminded me of my mom's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I didn't have any of the Goya products, used minced garlic and saffron strands. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Absolutely Delicious !!! Extremely easy to make, and cooks fairly quickly. Cheap meal that feeds alot of people and tastes great ! Would def reccommend to others. Very authentic tasting. My only thing to point out is , the chicken doesnt shred of the bone, so at the end take a fork and pull apart chicken from the bones and mix in. That is if you prefer it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
good flavor. i didn't use all Goya products. the rice:water was not right and my rice was mushy... i think 2.5cups water is enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYGONG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
The fisrt time I made this it was salty and the rice was mushy. The Adobo, chicken buillon, sazon seasoning packet, pimentos, and alcaparrados ALL contain salt. When I seasoned the chicken I treated the adobo like it was salt (sprinkle VERY lightly). Also I used a small red bell pepperbin place of the pimentos, and rinsed off some capers in place of the alcapparado. You can put the frozen peas in the rice before you pour the water in. I also increased the rice to 2 cups and used about 3&3/4) cups of water. It was so easy and came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Easy recipe. Next time I will punch up the flavor by adding extra Onion and Garlic Powder to the chicken. I used an unfamiliar brand of rice and like others, it came out mushy. I used 2.5 cups of water because I was using a large, whole tomato (adds fluid) and it was still too much fluid. I, also, used olives stuffed with pimiento (8) and cut them up; mixed the peas in after 10 mins of cooking and used 1/2 a red and green bell pepper. It'll be GREAT the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I always go to GOYA for authentic latin food. I followed recipe exactly and this came out delish. Planning on making double this time and invite family over :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari428

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I very much plan on using this recipe A LOT from now on. I have always had a hard time figuring out how to make this dish this way but couldn't so would end up going to bodegas. Heh. I used chicken thighs, less alcaparrado (only a few pieces from it), added some red pepper too. I didn't use all Goya products but it still all came out amazing. I added the peas in when the meal was still cooking. I found that worked out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This dish has great flavor, but for some reason it turned out mushy and some of the rice was not cooked through even though I cooked it longer than the 25 minutes. The chicken turned out fabulous. I'm going to try doing the rice with all the spices in the rice cooker next time. I'm not sure if the flavor will still come through the same way it did on the stovetop, but it's worth a try. This dish has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States