Arroz con Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Like all other cooks, we change what we may. I replaced cloves for the anise seeds. Great recipe, will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this last night and it is delicious. Its sweeter than what I'm used to so i might used a little less condensed milk next time. I used long grain rice instead of short grain so I'm not sure if that's why it came out extra sweet but still delicious. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My Husband loved it! I didn't have anise, lime, or raisins. Still came out very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingwgreen
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is delicious!! Its not too sweet when you use raisins, they balance out the sweet and tart flavor. I made it with long grain rice insteaf of short, 2% milk instead of evaporated, I did not have and lime or anise. I let it cook off more to make it thicker and am eating it hot right now, this is definitely a great comfort food and good on a cold night. This is supposed to be sweet, its pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingwgreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Skipped the whole 1st step and just used 3 or 31/2 cups pre-cooked rice. Then used 1/2c cup of milk instead of 1/2 cup of water for 2nd part and didnt have cinnamon stick so used 1 t cinnamon instead.completely omited anise and lemon. (never had to strain the mixture). never pulled out a second saucepan, just left the cinnamon milk mixure in sauce pan and after boiling 3 minutes, i added the evap milk and condensed milk and 1 teaspoon cornstarch and heated that till thick. once thick i added the vanilla and salt in addition to 2tbs butter (that just melted itslef into the hot mixure). wouldve been awesome w/ the raisins (just didnt have any) and can be sprinkled w/ sugar (if like it sweeter) and milk (if like it thinner). This was super good even though i changed it up a lot. my family kept fighting for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Mmmm... Que RICO!!! This rice pudding was creamy, delicious, and simple. I omitted the lemon and anise because I didn't have any. I also swapped evaporated milk for regular milk and it still turned out great. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
EXCELLENT! Just like my grandmother use to make. I am also Cuban, and I have been searching for an "Arroz con Leche" recipe like this one for a very long time. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Excellent, authentic-tasting recipe. Reminded me of arroz con leche I've eaten in Peru. I couldn't really taste the lime, however, so I added some fresh lime juice to the finished product. I couldn't find star anise in the store, but I didn't find that using a cinnamon stick added more flavor than using ground cinnamon. Next time I'll use ground spices to save time without compromising flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I live in Mexico. I served this to our seminary students over the Christmas holiday. They loved it! It felt great to receive such a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEKLIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I like my rice pudding thick, so I reduced it a little more than normal. Don't worry if it looks too watery at first, the rice will soak it all up. As for the comment regarding condensed milk. Use it (one can should be enough)! Rich and sweet is what rice pudding should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States