Arroz con Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This recipe is 5 stars with my modifications. I'm used to the Mexican version so I had to change just a few things. I left out the lime and anise and simmered 1 cup of milk with a cinnamon stick and some whole cloves. When the rice was done cooking I put a strainer over the pot and poured the milk in. I added 3-5oz cans of evaporated milk instead of 12oz and added only 3/4 of the can of condensed milk. I sprinkled in more ground cinnamon and nutmeg too. The vanilla and salt I added as the recipe states. I only let it simmer for about 5 minutes because we like a lot of liquid with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I grew up with this dish. So I had great expectations. I followed this recipe to a tee. Don’t know if there is a difference between the Cuban version and the Mexican version but this dish was a bit too sweet for my taste. I'll share my beloved mother’s recipe for those who prefer a mildly sweet rice dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthNut Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
EXCELLENT! Just like my grandmother use to make. I am also Cuban, and I have been searching for an "Arroz con Leche" recipe like this one for a very long time. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I like my rice pudding thick, so I reduced it a little more than normal. Don't worry if it looks too watery at first, the rice will soak it all up. As for the comment regarding condensed milk. Use it (one can should be enough)! Rich and sweet is what rice pudding should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I thought this was really good, though I next time I will used more condensed milk for a creamier, sweeter pudding. I am Cuban and grew up on incredible arroz con leche and this is the closest I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Iam mexican american so i grew up with my grandmas mexican version of arroz con leche, hers has more milk in it and is less sweet. I made this and for me it was way to sweet next time im a add half of the sweetened condensed milk instead of the whole can. Glad i had a taste of cuban arroz con leche it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayragabriela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Like all other cooks, we change what we may. I replaced cloves for the anise seeds. Great recipe, will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this last night and it is delicious. Its sweeter than what I'm used to so i might used a little less condensed milk next time. I used long grain rice instead of short grain so I'm not sure if that's why it came out extra sweet but still delicious. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Mmmm... Que RICO!!! This rice pudding was creamy, delicious, and simple. I omitted the lemon and anise because I didn't have any. I also swapped evaporated milk for regular milk and it still turned out great. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Excellent, authentic-tasting recipe. Reminded me of arroz con leche I've eaten in Peru. I couldn't really taste the lime, however, so I added some fresh lime juice to the finished product. I couldn't find star anise in the store, but I didn't find that using a cinnamon stick added more flavor than using ground cinnamon. Next time I'll use ground spices to save time without compromising flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States