Arroz con Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was good, but missing flavor. But it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I helped my daughter make this for a Social Studies assignment on Caribbean cuisine. This was the dessert after jerk pork, fried plantains and black beans made with sofrito (yum). It had a good flavor, but the kids thought it was better for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Great recipe! I am Mexican and love arroz con leche. My mom used to make it often because it is one of our favorite desserts but this recipe is better (sorry Mexican arroz con leche!) The only thing I do differently is not letting it get dry. We like it liquidy (did I just make up this word: liquidy?). The anise makes my family think I spiked the arroz con leche. We all love it!! I don't think it is as sweet as other members suggest. It is just perfect for my sweet tooth. The only problem I find is not finding short grain rice at the store. Long grain takes a loooong time to cook. I did find a medium one which I will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This recipe is 5 stars with my modifications. I'm used to the Mexican version so I had to change just a few things. I left out the lime and anise and simmered 1 cup of milk with a cinnamon stick and some whole cloves. When the rice was done cooking I put a strainer over the pot and poured the milk in. I added 3-5oz cans of evaporated milk instead of 12oz and added only 3/4 of the can of condensed milk. I sprinkled in more ground cinnamon and nutmeg too. The vanilla and salt I added as the recipe states. I only let it simmer for about 5 minutes because we like a lot of liquid with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was very tasty. I love the sweetness of the sweetened condensed milk and wouldnt have it any other way! I used whole milk instead of evaporated , used lime juice instead of the peel . To make a creamier pudding: at the end, remove about 2 cups of the pudding to a diffrent container and stir with 2 beaten eggs. Once mixed, add back to the pot along with nutmeg to taste, vanilla , 1 T of butter,and 1/3 cup of sugar. Cook another 3 to 5 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This tasted okay but for some reason it did agree well on me or my son. one star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
As others, I am from hispanic.....it was very good never had it this way before. But I like the Costa Rican style better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Great recipe, easy to make, i am a beginner in the kitchen and this was quite fun to make. However i did find it to be a little too sweet for my taste but my friends at work loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingwgreen
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is delicious!! Its not too sweet when you use raisins, they balance out the sweet and tart flavor. I made it with long grain rice insteaf of short, 2% milk instead of evaporated, I did not have and lime or anise. I let it cook off more to make it thicker and am eating it hot right now, this is definitely a great comfort food and good on a cold night. This is supposed to be sweet, its pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingwgreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Iam mexican american so i grew up with my grandmas mexican version of arroz con leche, hers has more milk in it and is less sweet. I made this and for me it was way to sweet next time im a add half of the sweetened condensed milk instead of the whole can. Glad i had a taste of cuban arroz con leche it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayragabriela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States