Arroz con Leche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This tasted okay but for some reason it did agree well on me or my son. one star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
As others, I am from hispanic.....it was very good never had it this way before. But I like the Costa Rican style better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Great recipe, easy to make, i am a beginner in the kitchen and this was quite fun to make. However i did find it to be a little too sweet for my taste but my friends at work loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingwgreen
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is delicious!! Its not too sweet when you use raisins, they balance out the sweet and tart flavor. I made it with long grain rice insteaf of short, 2% milk instead of evaporated, I did not have and lime or anise. I let it cook off more to make it thicker and am eating it hot right now, this is definitely a great comfort food and good on a cold night. This is supposed to be sweet, its pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingwgreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Iam mexican american so i grew up with my grandmas mexican version of arroz con leche, hers has more milk in it and is less sweet. I made this and for me it was way to sweet next time im a add half of the sweetened condensed milk instead of the whole can. Glad i had a taste of cuban arroz con leche it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayragabriela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I grew up with this dish. So I had great expectations. I followed this recipe to a tee. Don’t know if there is a difference between the Cuban version and the Mexican version but this dish was a bit too sweet for my taste. I'll share my beloved mother’s recipe for those who prefer a mildly sweet rice dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthNut Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Skipped the whole 1st step and just used 3 or 31/2 cups pre-cooked rice. Then used 1/2c cup of milk instead of 1/2 cup of water for 2nd part and didnt have cinnamon stick so used 1 t cinnamon instead.completely omited anise and lemon. (never had to strain the mixture). never pulled out a second saucepan, just left the cinnamon milk mixure in sauce pan and after boiling 3 minutes, i added the evap milk and condensed milk and 1 teaspoon cornstarch and heated that till thick. once thick i added the vanilla and salt in addition to 2tbs butter (that just melted itslef into the hot mixure). wouldve been awesome w/ the raisins (just didnt have any) and can be sprinkled w/ sugar (if like it sweeter) and milk (if like it thinner). This was super good even though i changed it up a lot. my family kept fighting for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
"kiki-tastic" it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCheng

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My Husband loved it! I didn't have anise, lime, or raisins. Still came out very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Like all other cooks, we change what we may. I replaced cloves for the anise seeds. Great recipe, will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States