Arroz Rojo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was pretty good. Added peas and cilantro along w rotel and black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToybobMama11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I thought this was a great mexican or spanish rice recipe. I did cheat and use instant white rice so not sure about their cooking method with the long grain rice. Here's what I did to make it with instant rice. I cooked two cups of instant rice per package directions. I cooked the onion in peanut oil until tender then added the seasonings (garlic powder too) and the tomato sauce - left out the tomatoes because I didn't have any fresh left! Cooked about 5 min. then added my insant rice which I only ended up using a little more than a cup. Heated through and served with green onion on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is a good base recipe with plenty of room for modifications. Here is how I prepared it: I fried 2 cups white rice in 3 tablespoons olive oil, added 3 tablespoons sofrito instead of the cumin, 1 package sazon seasoning, 1 cup tomato sauce & 3 cups chicken broth. Then I added 2 cups pigeon peas. After I made it, I asked my neighbor who is from Puerto Rico what she thought and she was impressed! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLC1971

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I paired this recipe with sour cream enchiladas...and it was marvelous. It was nice and tomato-y, a nice contrast of flavors with the enchiladas. I doubled the recipe and only used 1 tsp of the chili powder, and upon discovery I only had ONE can of tomato sauce I ended up using tomato soup as a substitute! It turned out awesome, and my kiddos really liked it...and that's saying something, seeing as how they're all ages between 5 and 9! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Too much chili powder and really not much taste to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Pretty good. I think there was a typo when this was entered, because two TEAspoons of chili powder was perfect. I read the other reviews, and they served as a good warning. I started with one teaspoon, checked after simmering for a while, added another half, then ended up sprinkling on some more. I also added a couple pinches of cumin toward the end. It came out delicious, although my boyfriend requested chicken in it next time. It made for some good tacos along with some canned salsa verde sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I don't know if i did something wrong but 2 tablespoons of chili powder was way to much for this. I couldn't even eat it. My husband who's Mexican tried to eat, but it was not tastey at all. We just ended up throwing it away. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This turned out pretty good for me, but the chili powder flavor was overwhelming. I did double the recipe though, and sometimes that can throw things off, so I might give this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States