Arroz Rojo (Mexican Red Rice) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Delicious! Like some others, I also broiled and peeled the tomatoes. Everything turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I've made so many different recipes for rice & this has to be the best by far. The rice was perfectly cooked through without being mushy at all or too firm. The only alteration I made was add 1/2 c of chopped green bell pepper & 1/2 c of chopped red bell pepper to the onion mixture. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I haven’t made Mexican rice in awhile, so maybe my memory is foggy, but I’m not sure I’ve ever made a Mexican rice recipe quite this good. Rather than trying to grate a tomato, I simply blanched it which made the peel come off easily, then just chopped it up very fine. Scaling this down to two servings meant I had to improvise on the tomato sauce – I wasn’t about to open a can for a mere tablespoon or two. For those who might find themselves in the same situation, I used half the measurement in tomato paste and water instead and it obviously worked out great because this was simply delicious. Worth seriously considering for your go-to Mexican rice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Alana Kadas
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I've tried a few Mexican red rice recipes and this has been my favorite by far. I followed the recipe exactly as written. It was amazing. I wanted to eat the whole pot. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana Kadas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This was delicious.Tasted like the rice they serve at Mexican Restaurants. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Burk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmcgr05
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This recipe was easy to create and loved by my whole family. I really like using fresh ingredients. I used 2 medium jalapeños, 3 sprigs of cilantro and one extra Roma tomato. Otherwise, I stuck to the recipe. The rice was pleasingly "hot" and very tasty. I highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Loved this rice!!! Reminded me of the Mexican rice at restaurants back home (we are currently stationed in Germany). Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meloakley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great rice recipe. I used Pato tomato sauce instead of regular for a little extra kick. I also don't usually pick recipes with a low amount of ratings but I'm glad that I tried this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I love this! I've used it so many times! For those of you wondering, the Roma's equal about 1/2 a cup. If you use crushed tomatoes, drain then, and strain them they work perfectly! I live in a seven person family, three of the kids barely eat anything (especially green things and veggies) but they love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This looked pretty in the dish but turned out dry when served at a Mexican-themed party. Not sure what I would do differently next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States