Arrachera (Skirt Steak Taco Filling) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was good, but i think it's important to note that the seasoning packet suggested is basically MSG, and quite a bit of MSG at that. I am a healthy eater and didn't realize this until i had already put the meat in the marinade. I will stick with the beer and limes and figure out different seasoning for next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I just wanted to add that this can be cooked in a frying pan with a little oil. Just add some sliced onion in there for extra flavor! Also you do not have to use the beer, it is optional. Or you may use less if you like. I also noticed that some of you said it had a lot of sodium, so here is the link to another personal recipe using this same cut of meat http://allrecipes.com/PersonalRecipe/62305757/Arranchera-Skirt-Steak-Taco-with-beer/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this exactly as written down to the Corona and salsa verde and we loved ever bite.I orginally left the meat in strips but later chopped it up in bite size pieces making it easier to eat. Load them up with cilantro and onions or any topping of your choice and you can't go wrong. Thanks SB. I appreciate you and all that you have shared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
THIS WILL NOT DISAPPOINT!! Hands down, it's the best taco recipe I've EVER made. Very similar to the "street tacos" from taco carts/stands you see around. I've served it about 5 times in the last 3 months to different groups of friends, and the compliments were endless. Definitely my most popular dish!! For the best results, follow the recipe EXACTLY with ONE exception: Double the lime juice. This really takes it over the top. Use very thinly sliced meat and don't overgrill. Toast corn tortillas on an ungreased skillet. I love, love, love this recipe! I've made the included salsa recipe twice now and find it to be good but not as stellar as the meat recipe and maybe just a little too tedious.. The way I've come to love this dish is by making a "relish" (I use equal parts fresh jalapeño and white onion, with a fair amount of cilantro and a few squirts of more lime juice, and throw it in a food processor until it's chopped to the consistency of pickle relish). Serve a scoop of that with a few strips of meat, a few sprigs of fresh cilantro leaves, and a bit of hot sauce like Tapatio. That's all you need! I've tried Cojita cheese which is good, just not necessary. Try it - you'll be adding this one to your recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
The meat turned out really goo! However, the reason that I rate it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I couldn't find the sazon seasoning anywhere. I was however, able to find a recipe for sazon seasoning on a different website, So, I made my own (which didn't have all that MSG that other reviewers were complaining about). It was a success! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This recipe is the best I have ever tried I followed the directions to a tee. I made this several times, this last time I used a different brand of achiote seasoning it was a terrible almost bitter taste, that might be why there were some reviewers saying it was bland tasting. Definately buy a good quality of achiote seasoning there are several kinds available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Used this on a thick skirt steak. Not for tacos, just a steak. Very, very good. I didn't have any white pepper(had used it all up) so I substituted chipotle hot sauce. Added juice of 1 lime and low sodium soy sauce. Excellent flavor. Family gobbled it up w/ avocado salsa. Thanks ShareBear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is a delicious and versatile dish. If I don't have skirt steak on hand, I will use ground beef, sweet onion, 1 cube of cilantro bouillon, and a squeeze of lime juice and cook in a lightly buttered skillet until all ingredients are cooked thoroughly. I soften the corn tortillas in hot oil and serve with fresh cut cilantro, lime, salsa, and tomatoes. Leftovers are hard to come by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Made very tasty Mexican tacos with this recipe the night I finally thought to look for the arrachera steak meat at a little carniceria (a Latino meat shop)~ & they had it! The meat was very thin - cut differently than Americans cut it. So happy to find it that I then bought a Carta Blanca beer, came home & immediately started marinating it together with the Goya Sazon (w/ coriander/"culantro" & annatto/"achiote"). I cooked it in a pan with a little oil & onions, although I know it would be enhanced by the grill's smokiness. Still, very tasty tacos, especially the next day. But I didn't like the peculiar Goya Sazon's flavor (& MSG) so much, so next time I'll try another Mex./ Latino seasoning, & also try making my own version of Sazon. ~ Thank you, SB, for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I went online and found that the Sazon's first ingredient was MSG......not good.......so I found a recipe for sazon that should help others here: Sazon is referred to a lot in Spanish cooking as Sazon Goya. This is the combination of spices needed to replicate the Sazon taste. INGREDIENTS: 1 tspSalt 1 tspGarlic Powder 1 tspCumin 1 tspCoriander 1 tspAnnatto Spanish Sazon (Dry Seasoning) Preparation: Combine well and store for future use. Even amounts is all that matters. If you need larger quantities double the amount listed. Sazon (1 1/4 tsp equals one packet of Sazon Hope it works for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak

See how to make a simple miso glaze for grilled steaks.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States