Arrachera (Skirt Steak Taco Filling) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
The meat turned out really goo! However, the reason that I rate it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I couldn't find the sazon seasoning anywhere. I was however, able to find a recipe for sazon seasoning on a different website, So, I made my own (which didn't have all that MSG that other reviewers were complaining about). It was a success! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This had a very good flavor and the meat turned out tender. It even tasted better the next day! I am only giving it 4 stars because I felt it needed more spice. Next time I will try mixing a little cayenne with the spices before sprinkling it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
These tacos were wonderful! My husband and I have been looking for a carne asada recipe that taste like the steak tacos we get at our local taqueria and I think these are pretty close. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was good, but i think it's important to note that the seasoning packet suggested is basically MSG, and quite a bit of MSG at that. I am a healthy eater and didn't realize this until i had already put the meat in the marinade. I will stick with the beer and limes and figure out different seasoning for next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
THIS WILL NOT DISAPPOINT!! Hands down, it's the best taco recipe I've EVER made. Very similar to the "street tacos" from taco carts/stands you see around. I've served it about 5 times in the last 3 months to different groups of friends, and the compliments were endless. Definitely my most popular dish!! For the best results, follow the recipe EXACTLY with ONE exception: Double the lime juice. This really takes it over the top. Use very thinly sliced meat and don't overgrill. Toast corn tortillas on an ungreased skillet. I love, love, love this recipe! I've made the included salsa recipe twice now and find it to be good but not as stellar as the meat recipe and maybe just a little too tedious.. The way I've come to love this dish is by making a "relish" (I use equal parts fresh jalapeño and white onion, with a fair amount of cilantro and a few squirts of more lime juice, and throw it in a food processor until it's chopped to the consistency of pickle relish). Serve a scoop of that with a few strips of meat, a few sprigs of fresh cilantro leaves, and a bit of hot sauce like Tapatio. That's all you need! I've tried Cojita cheese which is good, just not necessary. Try it - you'll be adding this one to your recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
happy accident- i like to add cumin to my mexican recipes, and my cumin and cinnamon jars look alike, so i had a few of these mexican beers that the recipe calls for, and i think you can guess what happened. the cinnamon actually gave it a nice flavor, a little bit of sweet along with the spicy. sounds gross but was actually very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I must be crazy but I thought this was just OK? I thought the beer gave the stake an odd flavor. I think I would have prefered the taste of lime juice with the sazon.... I am giving it 3 stars only for the fact that the meat was amazingly tender and when stuffed in a taco with other great stuff it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Charles Town, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
We loved it and all ended up eating too much it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Made very tasty Mexican tacos with this recipe the night I finally thought to look for the arrachera steak meat at a little carniceria (a Latino meat shop)~ & they had it! The meat was very thin - cut differently than Americans cut it. So happy to find it that I then bought a Carta Blanca beer, came home & immediately started marinating it together with the Goya Sazon (w/ coriander/"culantro" & annatto/"achiote"). I cooked it in a pan with a little oil & onions, although I know it would be enhanced by the grill's smokiness. Still, very tasty tacos, especially the next day. But I didn't like the peculiar Goya Sazon's flavor (& MSG) so much, so next time I'll try another Mex./ Latino seasoning, & also try making my own version of Sazon. ~ Thank you, SB, for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was thee best marinade for steak fajitas ever! Exactly what i was looking for. This will be my go to fajita marinade. Cant wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak

See how to make a simple miso glaze for grilled steaks.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States