Arrachera (Skirt Steak Taco Filling) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This is it!!! I finally found a wonderful recipe for taco meat! Thank you so much for this SB! I just made this tonight! I followed the recipe exactly as written, sad to say, the only beer I had in the frig was a ...(uh, hum..) Bud Lite, but I figured, what the heck, I'm not a beer drinker so I don't really want to buy a whole six pack just to use one, so I took a chance, I have to say I am very, very pleased! (But next time I think I will spring for the Corona or Tecate) I actually had Sazon on hand, the brand I have is "Badia" and there's no MSG in it, I've read a few reviews that are concerned about the MSG, I too, avoid it when possible. But the "Badia" is still quite salty, so either way, I suggest being very careful not to over do it with sazon. I served mine just as you suggested, with beans, rice, warm tortillas, I garnished with fresh cilantro, limes, and onion. Wow, it was like I had a taco truck right in my kitchen! This recipe is a true keeper! Thanks again for this, I know I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rays209

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Ok, nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Excellent! I made a taco salad out of it instead of tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Skirt steak is one of my favorites cuts- always flavorful- so I gave this a try. Followed the recipe but only made 1 lb of meat (it was enough for the 2 of us) and because of the reviews complaining about it being too salty, I used 1/2 regular Goya Sazon and 1/2 Goya No Salt Sazon (was thrilled to find it in my supermarket). I live in an apartment and don't have ready access to a grill, so I seared it on the flat side of my stove top grill, left it red in the middle, then cut it into small pieces and reheated just before serving. Since it was red it didn't overcook in the reheat process. I was afraid it would be too bland, but no- it was great, boyfriend loved it. Served on soft taco shells with lettuce shredded cheese, diced avocado, sliced green onion and chunky salsa. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This was yummy and easy to make. I broiled it in the oven instead of grilling the steak. I also added avocado, cilantro, sour and a salsa ontop of the taco. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Loved it! The meat was so tender and a flavor that was unique and I can't wait to make this again. We made them into a wrap and it was hard to not have seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I went online and found that the Sazon's first ingredient was MSG......not good.......so I found a recipe for sazon that should help others here: Sazon is referred to a lot in Spanish cooking as Sazon Goya. This is the combination of spices needed to replicate the Sazon taste. INGREDIENTS: 1 tspSalt 1 tspGarlic Powder 1 tspCumin 1 tspCoriander 1 tspAnnatto Spanish Sazon (Dry Seasoning) Preparation: Combine well and store for future use. Even amounts is all that matters. If you need larger quantities double the amount listed. Sazon (1 1/4 tsp equals one packet of Sazon Hope it works for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I make this often, but the only thing I would change about this recipe is the amount of sazon goya, I usually use at the most 2 packets or even just one is fine, I crush 2 or 3 cloves of garlic, add some orange juice (fresh from an orange) of course you have to have beer and lime in it, I use 1 lime for the juice, before I squeeze the lime and orange I cut a thin slice of both and add it to the marinade, I also throw in a few sprigs of cilantro, a few slices of fresh onion, or even onion powder would be ok!! I add goya adobo, and some sea salt no measurements, I'd say 1/2 tsp of each. let it sit for at least 30 minutes, throw it on the grill and you got some carne asada!! I'm not criticizing the original recipe, I just want to add some helpful hints, that's all, enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyevans17
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This is a good recipe just a few tips. When you purchase the meat ask the butcher to trim it and tell'em what your making with it. He /she will slice it extreamly thin and run it through a tenderizer. It make's a great difference, skirt steak tends to be tough when cooked. Also I maranade with fresh lime juice and beer, salt and pepper. For roughly 24 hours. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Turned out just ok. The meat was still a little chewy even after all day in the sauce. Made just as it called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso-Glazed Skirt Steak

See how to make a simple miso glaze for grilled steaks.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States