Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This sauce is absolutely delectable. The flavors meld wonderfully together, creating a rich, fresh sauce that you'll want to make every day! I came across this 5-star recipe when my cousin and I were searching for pasta sauces that were, quick, easy, and made with common ingredients. We found this one and decided to try it. I rate this sauce 5 stars for good reason. Do you not care for Italian foods? Don't be skeptical about this sauce- this masterpiece will make you a believer! If you still hesitate... My cousin and I have made it a TRADITION to make this sauce. Now I make it almost every week! Please try this amazing recipe. It's fast, easy, low-maintenance, made with ingredients you can find in the pantry, and completely delicious. I'd suggest even making a double batch- you'll want to have seconds! Thank you Ellen for giving my cousin and I a tasty new regular meal! We
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Great, easy and fast recipe. I doubled the crushed pepper flakes and smashed the tomatoes. I will repeat a previous reviewer's comment: THIS SAUCE IS SUPPOSED TO BE SPICY! If you like mild, this isn't for you--there are lots of other sauce recipes available. I've had authentic Arrabbiata in Italy, and this comes darn close. Will make it with fresh tomatoes later on in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrealer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Spicy and flavorful, but not the easiest to throw together quickly it seems. Also, be careful not to burn the garlic when you cook it with the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Wow! This recipe is so easy and the ingredient amounts are perfect. The only thing I add more of is the wine (eyeball it) because it really gives the sauce a different flavour. I sometimes add spinach (frozen will do) and/or diced black olives near the end to vary the sauce. Thanks for such a great and low fat recipe Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
1 can tomato paste, 3/4 cup red wine (pinot noir preferred) Browned sausage in the pan with garlic and onion; I would use more heat but my husband is iffy with spice. All in all a great Arrabbiata sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
It has potential to me but as others have said it was VERY spicy. My boyfriend couldn't eat it. Also I accidentally put in cinnamon instead of Italian Season. I would not suggest that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I wanted to try this recipe after reading the positive reviews. I was a little bit concerned that it would be too spicy for my family but seeing that others were able to modify the recipe and still have great results gave me hope! I dd not have fresh basil or parsley so I used dry and guessed at how much I should use (1/2 tsp basil & I never used the parsley). I used 1/2 the recommended measurements of black pepper & the red pepper flakes. I also used crushed tomatoes because my kids don't like chunky sauce. All I can say is that I will never buy pasta sauce in a jar again. This sauce was so good and so simple to make. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by finickyfour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This is a great sauce as is, I didn't have lemon juice or parsley so I just made do with what I did have. It is inexpensive and really tasty. It is pretty spicy so if you are not that into the heat, maybe cut it down to 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I used this as the sauce for my seafood spaghetti and it was fantastic. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tInA*671*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yona, Yona, Guam
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was a little spicier than I normally go for but it is easily fixed by reducing the amount of red pepper flakes. Overall this is very easy to make and was a huge success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBott
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Hubby enjoyed this more than me. I added a little extra red pepper flakes because we like spicy foods but I think that was a mistake - it was overpowering to me. Served over cheese tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States