Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Yummy! I love a good Arrabbiata Sauce, and this one is perfect. I added even more red pepper, since this sauce is supposed to be really spicy. I also used brown sugar instead of white. I used a pretty good amount, so it was both sweet and spicy. Mm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Excellent sauce. I made it as written and it was fantastic. The next day I stirred in a little sour cream and discovered that it also works very well as a lightly-creamy sauce. Make sure that you use penne or a similar noodle. I was short on penne so I used what I had left and threw in some linguine to make up the difference. Due to the chunkiness of the sauce, it doesn't cling very well therefore it is unsuitable for a long, thin noodle. I will probably use fusilli the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
really good, just a little chunky for me. i think putting it in a food processor after it's done is a good idea and milk is also a good idea and next time i will definitely add proscuitto in while im sauteeing the onions and garlic. great though(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This really is a wonderful sauce, and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This sauce is delicious ... .very spicy but that's the way we like it. I added chopped poblano & bell peppers when cooking the onion. I added the minced garlic for just a minute with the peppers & onions to avoid burning the garlic. I drained the tomatoes before adding but saved the juice in case the sauce was too thick, It wasn't. Arrabbiata means "angry" in Italian. This is a hot-tempered sauce but so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Different. Like a pasta sauce with a bit of an odd kick. I have to say that I agree with a review that said anyone who thinks it's too spicy is a whimp. :-) Just basically meaning that unless you really just hate any spiciness, don't be put off by that. I originally made this cause I was looking for something quick and easy to dump on some meat torillini that I had, and this actually matched it well. I used the rest the next night with plain pasta and did not like it as well. Perhaps I just prefer it with meat? I did google this and discover it's a sort of marinara with a kick, and I don't like marinara on plain pasta, so that probably explains it. I could see using this with chicken or a dipping sauce or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
A simple, spicy, clean sauce. Penne is a good choice, with fresh parmesan cheese. I know this will be requested again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
a true winner. I added chicken and put more wine and tomatoes than the recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Not one of my favorite pasta sauces but did it for girlfriend - one of her favorites. Didn't change recipe and sauce/penne were great. Lowered dose of pepper flakes as neither of us are hot for spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was an excellent and easy sauce to put together! The spice was a little hot for our taste, but diluting with about a half cup of crushed tomatoes (and a little extra red wine...) did the trick. Thanks for a great sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARMONYGIRL79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States