Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This is a really awesome sauce... and for those of you who don't know, Arrabbiata Sauce is SUPPOSED to be spicy... so make basic spaghetti sauce if you don't like spicy foods to spare this recipe the bad reviews. Anyway, this recipe was great with some extras thrown in like chopped spinach and kalamata olives... I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Too chunky- I was looking for a smoother arrabbiata sauce. So after ingredients were combined, I put them in the blender to puree them into a smooth consistency. I then added a splash of milk to make it a bit more creamy,and simmered as directed. Without these modifications I would give this recipe 3-4 stars, but after making the creamy version, I definitely give it 5 stars! Spicy, creamy. and even better the next day! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This is the first homemade sauce I've ever made - and man, did it turn out great!!! I made it for the first time a coupla weeks ago, and we have it at least once a week... We've tried plenty of vatiations, italian sausage, chunks of chicken, ham, etc. We've also spiced it up as well, with more red pepper flakes... A+ awesome recipe! thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
We have been looking for a good Italian restaurant since we moved, but none of them make Arrabiata like they do back home. Now we know how to make it ourselves! I added Proscuitti (a gourmet Italian meat), and salami when frying the onion and garlic. It was gooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Easy and very spicy. I added a little heavy cream to tone it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I thought this recipe was great. I did a few things different. Instead of using oil, i just used cooking spray. I also added chopped red and green bell peppers to it. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This sauce was amazing. My boyfriend and I made this last night, and I still cannot get over how great it turned out. It was very quick, and very easy to make. I served it over whole grain penne and mushrooms, and I was very very pleased. Since we like things hot, I added a dash of cayenne pepper to the sauce and that made it super super spicy! Next time I wont add the fresh parsley though! ^-^ Great for my first homemade sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Wonderful recipe! I was worried because some reviews said it was too hot, so I was careful with the spices, and it was great. The wine you use can make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Dyniec

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
A great sauce with a spicy kick. I loved it on penne pasta and the next day as a pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Sugar?? The way I learned how to make Arrabbiata down in southern Italy was sautee a 1/2 lb chopped bacon, 1/4 C olive oil, 1 small onion-chopped, 4 cloves of garlic minced [or more :-) ]; then add 4 T chopped black olives, 1 tsp capers, tsp each basil and Italian seasoning; 16 oz can tomatoe sauce, 1 large can of whole tomatoes chopped, and a few (to your taste) red chili peppers halved (the long, thin, dried kind). Simmer for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States