Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I followed this exactly as written using merlot for the wine. I also added sliced cooked italian sausage at the end and let the sauce simmer for 30 min on low.I served it over penne pasta. Half of my family loved it and half did not. We did not think it was too spicy at all. I might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Sugar?? The way I learned how to make Arrabbiata down in southern Italy was sautee a 1/2 lb chopped bacon, 1/4 C olive oil, 1 small onion-chopped, 4 cloves of garlic minced [or more :-) ]; then add 4 T chopped black olives, 1 tsp capers, tsp each basil and Italian seasoning; 16 oz can tomatoe sauce, 1 large can of whole tomatoes chopped, and a few (to your taste) red chili peppers halved (the long, thin, dried kind). Simmer for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I've had really good arrabiata sauce before and this isn't really it. This definitely does not need all the sugar the recipe calls for. I think I would omit the sugar and replace it with a finely diced carrot. Add in a few ounces of prosciutto as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melantodd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was fantastic! Definitely a 5 star recipe, however, I left out the red wine and Italian seasoning (I didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I have made this many times now and tweak it to our taste. Instead of red pepper flakes, I use ground chili garlic paste (Tuong Ot Toi) found in the Asian food aisle. I find it adds the lovely spice and a mellow heat rather than the sharp heat of the pepper flakes. I've added all kinds of left over meats, olives, even finely diced veggies. This sauce is exceptionally adaptable. It's served at least twice a month at our house and more often if we are entertaining a crowd. Tip - try it with Asiago cheese on top...to die for - trust me. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDCWOLF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
this sauce is great, and low fat to boot! lots of flavor. i didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNETTA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
We like spicy foods and this recipe is definitely SPICY! If you cannot handle spice then do not make this! This dish is so simple to make and offers up a lot of flavor. No need to make any changes, it is great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
AMAZING sauce! I added an additional Tbsp of tomato paste and let it simmer for 25 minutes so it had time to thicken up, then served it w/penne and parm cheese. My guests raved. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenG219
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This sauce is absolutely delectable. The flavors meld wonderfully together, creating a rich, fresh sauce that you'll want to make every day! I came across this 5-star recipe when my cousin and I were searching for pasta sauces that were, quick, easy, and made with common ingredients. We found this one and decided to try it. I rate this sauce 5 stars for good reason. Do you not care for Italian foods? Don't be skeptical about this sauce- this masterpiece will make you a believer! If you still hesitate... My cousin and I have made it a TRADITION to make this sauce. Now I make it almost every week! Please try this amazing recipe. It's fast, easy, low-maintenance, made with ingredients you can find in the pantry, and completely delicious. I'd suggest even making a double batch- you'll want to have seconds! Thank you Ellen for giving my cousin and I a tasty new regular meal! We
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Great, easy and fast recipe. I doubled the crushed pepper flakes and smashed the tomatoes. I will repeat a previous reviewer's comment: THIS SAUCE IS SUPPOSED TO BE SPICY! If you like mild, this isn't for you--there are lots of other sauce recipes available. I've had authentic Arrabbiata in Italy, and this comes darn close. Will make it with fresh tomatoes later on in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrealer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States