Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Excellent sauce. I made it as written and it was fantastic. The next day I stirred in a little sour cream and discovered that it also works very well as a lightly-creamy sauce. Make sure that you use penne or a similar noodle. I was short on penne so I used what I had left and threw in some linguine to make up the difference. Due to the chunkiness of the sauce, it doesn't cling very well therefore it is unsuitable for a long, thin noodle. I will probably use fusilli the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
really good, just a little chunky for me. i think putting it in a food processor after it's done is a good idea and milk is also a good idea and next time i will definitely add proscuitto in while im sauteeing the onions and garlic. great though(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This really is a wonderful sauce, and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This sauce is delicious ... .very spicy but that's the way we like it. I added chopped poblano & bell peppers when cooking the onion. I added the minced garlic for just a minute with the peppers & onions to avoid burning the garlic. I drained the tomatoes before adding but saved the juice in case the sauce was too thick, It wasn't. Arrabbiata means "angry" in Italian. This is a hot-tempered sauce but so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Different. Like a pasta sauce with a bit of an odd kick. I have to say that I agree with a review that said anyone who thinks it's too spicy is a whimp. :-) Just basically meaning that unless you really just hate any spiciness, don't be put off by that. I originally made this cause I was looking for something quick and easy to dump on some meat torillini that I had, and this actually matched it well. I used the rest the next night with plain pasta and did not like it as well. Perhaps I just prefer it with meat? I did google this and discover it's a sort of marinara with a kick, and I don't like marinara on plain pasta, so that probably explains it. I could see using this with chicken or a dipping sauce or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
A simple, spicy, clean sauce. Penne is a good choice, with fresh parmesan cheese. I know this will be requested again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
a true winner. I added chicken and put more wine and tomatoes than the recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Not one of my favorite pasta sauces but did it for girlfriend - one of her favorites. Didn't change recipe and sauce/penne were great. Lowered dose of pepper flakes as neither of us are hot for spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was an excellent and easy sauce to put together! The spice was a little hot for our taste, but diluting with about a half cup of crushed tomatoes (and a little extra red wine...) did the trick. Thanks for a great sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARMONYGIRL79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Spicy! Great flavor overall - definitely goes well with a huge piece of toasted cheese bread. Definitely is a thin sauce, but the big chunks of tomato balance it out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubilina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States