Aromatic Asian Burgers (Abalos Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Course chop the water chestnuts. Otherwise this is the best burger I have ever had. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I served these up on a Friday night recently. With the snow still on the ground, I fried them up on the stove. They were excellent! Everybody enjoyed them. I did not stray too far from the recipe, but I certainly did not measure out any ingredients either. They did not lack flavor as suggested by another reviewer. I always roll my burgers and then place them in the fridge for at least 30 minutes before flattening and cooking. This helps them to stay together through cooking and enhances any flavors added...I was asked to make these again once barbecue season is back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Wow!!! This was great, though I tweaked it a bit... 1/2lb each ground chuck, ground sirloin, and ground pork A pretty nice Japanese sesame oil. Added 1/2 table spoon hot Thai chili oil Diced red onion and garlic rather than the powdered stuff. Added an egg and some Italian bread crumbs as the mixture was a little wet. I also let the meat sit for half an hour while my side cooked (Honey Roasted Red Potatoes found on this site) Finally, I seared each patty on high and finished off in the oven. I will definitely make this again. Lots of flavor, great aroma. Paired great with Andrew Will Semillon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This has become a staple for us. I make it mini sized, and have it as side dish. *** DO NOT SKIP on sesame oil or soy sauce or garlic, these are the main flavor ingredient. Used ground turkey instead. Added a little jalapeno, and breadcrumbs. Used parseley and onions instead green onions and water chesnut. Used real ginger and garlic. Made toping of sauted onion and mushroom on the same pan in the left over running juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Loved these! Didn't have charcoal so we used the Forman grill. Had some Kikkoman wasabi sauce on top---yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knamos85

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I really liked all the flavors in this burger. I didn't have peanut oil so I used vegetable oil and then added a bit of sesame oil at the end of cooking. I wasn't sure whether I liked the water chestnuts or not. The texture was a bit different is all. I will have this again. It was a change from a regular burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We liked this but for our tastes we almost doubled the spices and grilled them with a store-bought spicy Sichuan sauce. Served with a napa cabbage/carrot/peanut slaw and soba noodles. We would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I too used ground turkey to make these burgers and other than cutting back on the ginger, we all thought these were so good. Ground turkey needs a little help in the flavor department anyway and this really did it! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
skipped the water chestnuts and green onion. Not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Not real crazy about the flavor. Use less sesame oil and they'd probably be better, but I probably won't try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GradysMomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hollister, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States