Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I tried adding garlic and onion powder but still found this recipe bland. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I was surprised I liked this so much. My husband loved it. It reminded us of a quick and easy beef stroganoff. I added a chopped medium onion, a few minced garlic cloves and a bit of rosemary. I also used 3 beef bouillon cubes instead of 1 and was much more generous with the Worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stuphsstuff
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I added one pkg Beef Onion Lipton Soup packets. Without it its VERY bland. I added onions as well and skimmed down the milk. Its a good foundation but needs some zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Skip the beef bouillon and add a can or two of Campbell's Beefy Mushroom soup to this recipe. You will taste the difference, really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Absolutely love this simple quick recipe!!! I made it to go on top of Au Gratin cheesy potatoes or biscuits, with spinach and green beans. My family loves the simple foods. So this recipe fit the bill perfectly. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Im giving this 5 stars because it is the basic way to make SOS those who are complaining that it is on the BLAND side keep in mind a recipe of this nature is NOT meant to be perfect on flavor (although in my opinion this one does not lack there) this type of recipe is designed to feed the masses, large groups of people, or families on a budget and need a filling meal. THIS is what it is. If you need more flavor may I suggest salt and pepper to taste. Chop up a RED ONION take a can of peas drain it and add it to the mix.... I have fond memories of the type of dish this is, Growing up with a divorced mom she always made sure the kids were not only fed but full. This SOS kind of dish was one of my favorites served on top of toast> Let me tell you if there was a way to make ends meet in the kitchen my mom could do it. Thank you for posting this recipe and taking me back to my mothers home cooked gotta feed the kids kind of cooking. I had her recipe but sadly lost it, this one was very close to hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I loved it, the idea is to season to taste! I added onions and garlic and some fresh mushrooms also added one more cube of beef bullion and a little more whats this here sauce! lol! this couldn't have been easier! Ty so much for this recipe! Were gonna have this on toast! Semper Fi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kekecatty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I liked the recipe however I had to use soy milk. YOu can make it two ways add more flour or leave out some milk. I added about a table spoon more flour to get the thickened state. Soy milk is all my family drinks due to milk allergies. Great recipe but this is just a alternative way to do this. Military spouse love that I can do a themed supper on occasion for my navy husband
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Traditional S@*# On a Shingle taste without the dried and jarred beef. I would not have believed how close this comes to the Army's version using ground beef. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Van Aken

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Added diced onion, minced garlic, and extra worcestershire sauce as recommended. Very good. Served it over egg noodles. May add peas to it next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States