Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Super easy and my kid loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I cooked SOS almost daily in the Army and I can tell you, the beef bouillon and the Worcestershire sauce have got to go. They do not add to, but only take away from true Army style SOS. In place of using those two items use garlic powder and when browning the ground beef of at least 80/20% lean to fat add 1/2 cup chopped onions. Please have a bottle of hot sauce on the table for your dinners to further their military tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oscar Betournay

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
It's great! Just pour the grease off and add garlic powder and minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I loved this recipe! It's just one of those weeks when money is low and there isn't much left in the fridge/ freezer. I needed something fast, easy, cheap but would taste good too. This was great. I think I'll try adding mushrooms next time the ole' budget allows. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*~Jami~*~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Good, but needs seasoning. I sautéd 1 chopped onion with the beef and still found it to be bland so I increased the wostershire and added a little granulated garlic. It came out quite good. Cheap and easy and very tasty with a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giad27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
It's a good recipe but I make it by scrambling the beef with chopped onions and garlic, then removing it from the pan, I make a rue sauce with the drippings. I don't use Worcestershire. Then salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ackerman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Just ok. Quick but bland. Kids ate it but wouldn't touch the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wks880

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Morinville, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My boys loved it.... which is always a good thing. I put it over egg noodles. We have garlic cheese biscuits along with it... which is pretty tasty with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Poehleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Very easy, quick, tasty meal. I had all of the ingredients, except for Worchestershire. I substituted Teriyaki Sauce & it was good. I probably used more than 1 cube of beef bullion because I used Knorr Caldo con sabor de Res (Beef) bullion in the jar & also I doubled up on the pepper. I served over instant mashed potatoes because that was all I had. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
My husband is active duty for 20+ years. I made this tonight - as wrote (added a small cube of cream cheese - but I would never tell him) - and he said it was "dead on" what the Army serves. I did use alot of pepper - as that is how he likes his. This is not meant to be a gourmet meal with mushrooms, onions, garlic, etc. It is great if that is how you like it - but soldiers eat it as wrote - bland and all. This is a really good recipe - my hubby said it takes him back to drill sgt. school when after being on the trail for days on in - this was an ultimate comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 741) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States