Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Quick, easy meal for cold winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good. I served it over noodles. It was almost like a stroganoff. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I love this stuff, yes I put onion in it. I've always liked to serve it over mashed potaoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was a mess hall regular during WWII according to my dad. We had it on a regular basis. My mother made it the same way she made dried beef & sausage gravy. We always served it over toasted bread. Its was a fairly inexpensive way to feed a family of 8. I grew up and made it my own by adding bit of garlic powder and a tablespoon of sugar and lots of fresh ground pepper. It is very similar to dried beef gravy or sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good, put it over rice. Family members told me that it's usually called " on a Shingle" and put over toast....haha. I doubled the recipe and it made great leftovers to bring to work. Next time I think I'll add a chopped up carrot to the meat while it's cooking, to add a little flavor, and to make it prettier. I did add about 2 tbsp of minced garlic and one chopped onion to the meat, which I'm glad I did...... I don't think it would've been as good without it. I did use the advice of another reviewer and let the flour cook for a bit before adding the milk. It did seem like a lot of milk at first but it did cook down into a nice gravy. I was soooooo tempted to drain the fat from the ground pork, but I used lean ground beef, and I'm sure the fat helped with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Definitely took me back to my childhood - a nice recipe to share with my kids, when I feel the need to cook recipes from my past!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I really liked this. I added the extra spices suggested. I think it was a half tsp of onion and garlic powder. I also added quite a bit of pepper. There were no leftovers and it was nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was really bland. Following suggestions of other reviewers, I added onion and garlic & more worc sauce. It needed more but don't know what. My husband asked me not to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Hubby loves it! I would cut back maybe half a cup of milk and more Worcestershire sauce. But that's just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Good recipe and very easy to make. Good substitute for a stroganoff if your family doesn't like mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 730) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States